Raisin Sauce for Ham I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Thin the corn starch with a little bit of cold water before you add it to the mixture, or else you'll end up with small clumps of corn starch in the finished recipe. Our family thought this recipe was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Decrease the amount of sugar a little, use a good quality orange marmalade which shouldn't be very sweet, and add a good splash or two of cabernet savignon! These small changes made for a very easy but memorable sauce to use with left over baked ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
really good, would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
was very delicious. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This was a great base recipe to start from. I must admit I hardly ever follow a recipe exactly. The changes I made: I used dried cranberries instead of raisins. I left out the salt and sugar entirely. I used a shake of cinnamon along with the cloves. It was sweet and spicy and thick. Wonderful over ham or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I didn't have cloves so I left that part out of the recipe. I knew better to add the dry mixture to the boiling sauce and it did make clumps so I put everything in the blender and it turned out GREAT. I served it with a pork roast and my roommate couldn't stop eating it. It made a good amount of sauce so now I have some in the fridge and look forward to using it with some pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Great recipe! I made my own marmalade, and the family loved it!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I would omit the sugar entirely as it is very sweet. I used pineapple juice instead of orange and cinnamon instead of cloves. Absolutely mix the cornstarch with a little water before adding to raisin mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I rarely give five stars, but this one deserves it. Barb warmed it up for lunch the next day, and that is a rare occurance. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I really loved this tangy orangy sauce,I used the blonde rasins and it turned out great.Big flavor and not to orangy the orange is actually pretty subtle,great on ham sandwitches the next day,mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richardjs41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meddybemps, Maine, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Blueberry Sauce

See how to make a delicious blueberry sauce for breakfast and dessert.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States