Raisin Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
This sauce was so good, I hated to throw it out after the ham was gone. I made it exactly as written and will use this as my default raising sauce from now on. I did wonder how long it would take to thicken. So after realizing that it just wasn't going to get "thick" I took it off the heat and let it cool. It thickened as it cooled. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robynznest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was a new recipe for me and I really liked the flavor. I also had to use cornstarch to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sll474

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Everyone at the dinner loved this sauce over the ham. It wasn't thickening for me at first so I added a teaspoon of cornstarch and that did the trick. I also used golden raisins and a little more of them than the recipe called for. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Lost my family's recipe for Raisin Sauce and this comes very close. Loved it on ham slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
1 tablespoon of flour isn't enough to thicken 3 1/4 cups of flour. this was just a soupy mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
delicious!! but, the sauce did not thicken even though I added an extra tablespoon of flour. The flavor is great.Did anyone else have this problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
This raisin sauce is delicious and perfect for ham. It reminds me of the raisin sauce my own Grandmother use to make. All of my children and grandchildren were impressed, and that is hard to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
Great quick easy raisin sauce using all the simple ingredients in your cabinet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Chef John's Mango Cranberry Sauce

See how to make mango cranberry sauce with a secret kick.

Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce

See how to make a top-rated asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States