Raisin Rice Stuffed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
Delicious. I made too much of the rice mixture so I just put the extra rice in the bottom of the pan, under the chicken. The rice absorbed the juices from the chicken and tasted excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This is an absoloutely excellent Persian recipe... just what I was looking for! It was a hit at Thanksgiving with everyone, Persian or not. My babajon (dad) was especially happy and proud to see me cook my first pot of good basmati rice! The rice turned a beautiful color from the tumeric and the raisins plump so nicely. We stuffed our turkey with it! Merci jonam, Nasi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
The stuffing gave a wonderfully light & delicate flavor to the chicken as it baked. Very easy to prepare, although you should use a medium or large skillet when preparing the onion/raisin mixture for the stuffing, it's all just too much for a small one. I will certainly make this again, maybe with cornish hens next time. Thanks Nazi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This dish was very yummy. The flavors mixed together very nicely to make it an enjoyable dish to eat. Like others, I substituted ginger for the tumeric and it tasted just as good. I didn't make it with the chicken, but I'm sure that would've made it even better. Some of the others that tasted it said a little bit more flavor would be better- maybe improvise a little and add some of your favorite spices that would go with the main taste. Very delicious overall!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was delicious. I also added lentils because I had an abundance of them. I also added more rice because the chicken was so juicy. I paired it with a wilted spinach salad with a balsamic dressing which came up on side dish suggestion list. Comforting, sweet and salty ... yet you don't really notice the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Great recipe! I used brown rice instead of white and omitted the raisins to make it Weightwatcher friendly. Then I closed the opening with water-soaked toothpicks and put the chicken in my rotisserie. Will deffinatly use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
I did not have the turmeric flavoring, but it was still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
It was my first try at roasting chicken in my new oven. Did not have ground tumeric at home, so I used freshly minced ginger. The chicken was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
the rice is a little more bland than expected. But to help, we used the chicken drippings on the rice that was left over. It was really good then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This review is on the stuffing only, as I used the stuffing in a turkey for Christmas dinner. I think I am a bread stuffing kind of gal through and through. But my mother-in-law has celiac's and cannot eat bread stuffing, or turkey roasted with bread stuffing. My family doesn't go for raisins in stuffing, so I swapped that for two stalks of celery, chopped, and added a small can of mushroom stems and pieces just on a whim. I didn't have turmeric in the house. I used parsley instead. I made the stuffing last night, and put it in a ziploc bag in the refrigerator over night before stuffing into the turkey this morning. When I first tasted it this morning, I thought it tasted too oniony. I stuffed about half of what I made (tripled the stuffing recipe) into the turkey, which had butter, garlic powder, thyme, savory, parsley, rosemary, crushed bay leaves, and thyme rubbed into the inside cavity. The part that was stuffed was about 10 times better than the unstuffed portion that just got baked with a little turkey stock added for flavor. I served the portion that got stuffed, saving the unstuffed portion for if we needed more. What I served got mostly eaten, and was better covered in turkey gravy and eaten with cranberry sauce. But the rice just didn't quite do it for me. I think I may try a different rice stuffing in the future to see if I can find one I like better for the times when I do have to make it for my mother-in-law.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States