Raisin Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
came out delicious! I used brown sugar. My husband couldn't stop munching on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
READ ME >>> I'M HELPFUL. This recipe is fantastic, however, the "walnut sized" suggestion is not helpful as none of us know what that means specifically. To get this right first time make the dough balls just under 1/8th of a cup in size and keep them AT LEAST 2 inches apart in the oven, as these cookies like to spread out. Funny thing is, even if they spread out and blend into one another, they are still delicious once they've cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedeeaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Really good cookie. Mine didn't flatten as much as the ones pictured...but great none the less. I also added a tsp of rum to the raisin water and another to the batter for a 'rum raisin' variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mashpee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Q'scooking
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
My mother in law gave me this recipe years ago....the only changes are 2 cups of raisins, 1 cup of oil and only 3 cups of flour. It will take more sugar to coat them. I make these cookies every year for the holidays. Leave them on the cookie sheet for a couple minutes to cool..then remove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q'scooking
Living In: Avonmore, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
An extremely accurate name for this recipe! --except I did use craisins since I wanted to use them up... so Craisin Puffs. Overall, a good cookie. They baked up very nicely and were deliciously firm yet cakey cookie. It is very lightly flavored...too lightly flavored. I think an extract or liquour could boost thie flavor a bit. Or a touch of lemon zest... My bf suggested using cherries, which was interesting since others have subbed dried cherries. --Perhaps using a liquid other than water to plump the fruit... that would probably help. ANyhow, it will be a fun recipe to play with! What a happy recipe to find when I wanted to bake cookies but found myself without brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Taste like raisin filled cookies without the work and with raisins in every bite. I put more raisins in. I use this recipe for wedding cookie trays and they are always a big hit. Got the recipe originally from the Pennsylvania Grange cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gipsy, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cherry Tree, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
excellent cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gracey
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
These cookies have the perfect consistency - soft and chewy. Also, they are light and taste good. I forgot to roll mine in sugar, but they didn't seem to miss it. They needed 10 mins in my oven - don't bake them more, even if they look undone to you. They will harden when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
These were a huge hit! I followed the recipe, only instead of vanilla extract I used vanilla bean when boiling the raisins. I will be making these again soon! Really great cookie that isn't too sweet. Also I didn't grease the cookie sheet, this lead to less spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I saw these today and decided to try them. For some reason, I was thinking they would be more like a biscuit, as they look, or like a mini cake as others were saying. So, I didn't think they would be too sweet. However, they are exactly like a "very sweet and thick sugar cookie" in taste and texture. Just not what I was expecting. They are just way too sweet for me. Using the calculate button and changing the servings to 18 will yield 13-14 good sized cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States