Raisin Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This pie is super easy to make and has now been added to my recipe library. My family loved it! In using a 9-inch pie pan, it did make a shallow pie, so next time I would double the raisins and the "sauce" mixture. I added vanilla to the mixture just before pouring into the pie pan for additional depth of flavor. I think that adding rum or butter extracts would also create wonderful taste variations. I sprinkled granulated sugar on top of the lattice crust for a crispy, sweet touch. This pie goes together fast, it uses inexpensive ingredients most of us already have in our pantries, and the results are delicious! This pie is perfect for experimentation like adding nuts, apples, pears, etc. I recommend it to anyone that loves fruit pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prospect, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
Great raisin pie! This recipe is exactly how my Grandma Kate use to make her pie and no one has ever matched it until this recipe. I thought the recipe was lost forever. If you love raisins, you'll love this recipe. Thanks Jean & your Mother. Peggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
The best we have ever tried. My husband had three pieces and said it was the best I have made in 15 years! Perfect recipe as is of course using the best ever pie crust recipe found on this site as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
This pie was delicious. I increased the filling to 1 1/2. One recipe did not seem like enough for a 9 inch pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Very good recipe. I found the amount of filing was perfect, as raisin pies are supposed to be thin and dense, not thick like berry pies. I did have to tweek a little, I added another 2 tsp flour and a pinch of cinnamon, but I'm Italian, so our pinches are larger :), so about 1/8-1/4 tsp. As if that wasn't good enough, I brushed the top crust with cream (milk) and sprinked vanilla sugar over it, I think I'm ready for the big leagues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaplinj

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was my first attempt at pie making and I chose this recipe. I made three in a row with various pastry tweaks and pie pans for quality check! (Plain old aluminum pan worked the best.)Definitely double the base mix, this is necessary. I also reduced the sugar in the last pie and it met my likes very well, I don't like over sweet. I also reduced the raisins by 1/4 cup or more. I also added a cap full of vanilla to the raisin and water pot, I much preferred this taste. I would also recommend to brush an egg wash on the pie before cooking, it looks much better. Be sure to get into the fine little cracks for an even browning. Also put a cookie sheet under pie to catch any messy droppings! Thank you for posting this, as far as taste goes...you can't go wrong with this one. Go ahead and give it a try! Happy baking to you all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I've made this several times and my husband loves it. I usually double the sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Strathroy, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Too many raisins. I also doubled the sugar/flour mixture or the pie would have been very thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
The raisins were doubled and the pie was excellent. Easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I've made this twice for my father in law who LOVES raisin pie. I multiply everything by 1 1/2 and used half golden raisins and half sunmaid california raisins. Added a good 2 tsp of vanilla just before pouring into the pie crust. I cheat and use Tender Flake pie crust and slice one pie crust up and do a lattice top. Looks so good (well it is part of his birthday gift!) Tastes like a huge butter tart. YUM. Very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Parry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freelton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States