Raisin Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
Thanks for a wonderful recipe. I have made it twice for work. This last time people could not stop raving about how good it was. It was so easy to mix up and pop in the oven, it practically makes itself. Great use of the overstock of raisins I had. I ran out of applesauce, so I ran some apple pie filling through the blender and it worked just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
great tasting, except it was slightly crumbly and didn't hold together as well as I'd like. I changed the recipe: for sugar I used half white and half brown, I added less walnuts and more raisins, and I threw it all in the bread machine on the 'cake bread' setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
I made this recipe a few days ago and wanted to say that my husband really liked it, especially since it had raisins in it. Personally I would have liked it to be a little sweeter but that's just me. Also I have an electric oven and I had to baked it 10 minutes longer. All in all, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This recipe is simply the easiest and quickest to make and is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Got several compliments with this bread, tho I changed it a little. Used Craisins (sweetened, dried cranberries) in place of raisins. Only had sweetened applesauce on hand, so cut the sugar a bit, though the final product could have used the extra sugar, in my opinion. Good bread; very dense and a little crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This bread was great! My boyfriend took it to work with him and everyone loved it. They all said it was awesome! I even made it with fat free butter, but I don't think they knew that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
A great bread in a short time. A slice of this hearty bread and some yogurt makes a quick, healthy breakfast. I do believe I'm addicted to this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Bossart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This was good, and definitely easy. It came in handy when some relatives dropped by with little notice and I needed something for them to eat for breakfast. I agree with other reviewers that it didn't hold together well and was rather crumbly. I left out the nuts and added extra raisins. I drizzled a thin cream cheese frosting/glaze over it for a little extra sweetness. If I make this again I will probably put a streusel topping on it to make it more like a coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Great bread! I love the texture & taste. I sliced & put together the little cream cheese filled sandwiches for a church luncheon made with this bread & I didn't have enough. It wanted to crumble a little but with the cream cheese as glue it solved that. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Poland, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp and added another egg to bind the ingredients so the bread wouldn't crumble, and it held together very nicely. Just the right amount of sugar as I'm not fond of very sweet things. Thanks for the very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States