Raisin Farfel Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
My favorite passover recipe! I add dried cherries and pecans which become delicious when cooked. I think adding any dried fruit (cranberries, apricots) would be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I made this for my mother as part of a Mother's Day breakfast and we both enjoyed it very much. I think I prefer noodle kugels best, but this was very good - and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Great for Passover. I double recipe & put in two 8" x 8" pans. I use only 3/4 cup sugar per single recipe. I use golden raisins soaked in hot water to plump up. I beat eggs in mixer to aerate. For easy removal, I grease pan & line with parchment paper, which is also greased. Make ahead as it tastes better the next day. Thanks NIBLETS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Just made this for first sedar nite...it was great. I made no changes except I left out the salt. Everyone loved it....nice and cinnamonny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I served this with dinner for Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur, and it was a hit both times. I used golden raisins and the first time I soaked them in water as the farfel was soaking in the water and then egg, and the next time I soaked the raisins in sweet wine. It made them plumper. Definitely don't lose heart when your mixture is liquidy. It firms up quite nicely once baked! Next time I am adding chopped apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genee_in_a_bottle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomona, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Big hit! I love my egg noodle kugel best, but this was a great breakfast treat for Passover. It was very easy to make, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMURKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Family loves it, they request it all year round, I add chopped dried apricots and cherries along with chopped raisins. I'm generous with the amount of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by windband
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
It's good. I doubled the recipe. When it just came out of the over, the whole thing was so big, which scared me. But as it cooled, it went back and fit in the dish again :) Tasted good, but very different...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windband

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Wonderful! I couldn't find matzo farfel at our store, so I substituted egg noodles, and the recipe was still delicious. Will definitely use again next year (hopefully with farfel)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I wowed my office at our international potluck with this tasty treat. Goes great with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States