Raisin Farfel Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This kugel was incredible!!!! Let me start off by saying, I doubled the recipe before I even tried it after reading the reviews. After having used my flat bakeware for other recipes, I had to bake it in a souffle baker - ok, so it would be a bit tall. When preparing the recipe, I beat the eggs in the mixer and made them super fluffy. After soaking the matzoh, and following the directions to the letter (except I added extra raisins...mmmm, and used marg. instead of butter to serve with meat) , I ended up putting what looked like soup into the oven (I was a bit concerned at this point). Let me tell you.... I had to bake this a bit longer than the recipe called for because of the height of my baker, but what came out of the oven was an incredible, delicious sweet, moist kugel like I have never had. I make this twice and brought it to two seders, and EVERYONE raved! We couldn't stop eating it! I will be using this recipe all year round!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Absolutely fantastic!. My dh and dd loved it and asked for seconds. I will need to make a double batch next time. Husband usually complains when I put raisins into anything - but he loved this - and it was so simple to make. The only change I made was to use margarine instead of butter so I could serve with a meat meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I JUST SERVED THIS FOR MY SEDAR DINNER. THE DISH WAS SCRAPED CLEAN. IT IS SO GOOD I PLAN TO MAKE IT ALL YEAR ROUND.EVERYONE REQUESTED THE RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I served this with dinner for Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur, and it was a hit both times. I used golden raisins and the first time I soaked them in water as the farfel was soaking in the water and then egg, and the next time I soaked the raisins in sweet wine. It made them plumper. Definitely don't lose heart when your mixture is liquidy. It firms up quite nicely once baked! Next time I am adding chopped apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genee_in_a_bottle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomona, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Thank you so much for this! I am doing my first Passover and just made this. I'm sorry I didn't double it. It's sooooooooooooooo good. I am running out now to get more raisins to make another batch! Happy Passover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Very tasty! I've never had anything quite like this before and decided to try the recipe despite the fact that I've never even been to a Seder. ;) My parents both thought it was great. Will be making it again! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Really yummy. Wonderful for Passover and a great all-year-round breakfast food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I didn't add quite as much sugar and brown sugar is even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matchstick atom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Family loves it, they request it all year round, I add chopped dried apricots and cherries along with chopped raisins. I'm generous with the amount of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
AMAZING. I brought this to my parents' for Passover. There were 20 people and everyone loved it. It does have a lot of cholesterol, so I later experimented using only egg whites and smart balance spread... it still tastes great!! Thanks for the amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkoltov

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States