Raisin Crunch Cookie Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Miss Dusty
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Mostly easy to put together. I highly recommend using a WIDE-mouthed jar. It will make it much easier to press down each layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Amazing. Pack in the jar tightly but fits just fine. I love sweet things but could easily cut a 1/4c sugar next time, wow. A keeper. Many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Just made one. I only used 1 cup coconut and didn't have any trouble getting all ingredients to fit. I'm donating a couple to a bake sale. It came out really cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I packed the jar, then baked it immediately to test for gift-worthiness. The fit in the jar is (as mentioned) *very* tight. I added 2 Tbs. powedered eggs, and had about 1.5 Tbs flour mix left over - so about 1/2 Tbs of wiggle room. I made some tweaks: The aforementioned powdered eggs, from Honeyville Grain, to cut the amount of stuff people need to add later. Dried cranberries instead of raisins, both for more seasonal flavor and because I don't like raisins. I cut the brown sugar by 1/4 cup, but added a few extra cranberries. I replaced the butter with grapeseed oil because I'm a very sensitive lactose-intolerant, and added 1/3rd cup of water at the end to reconstitute the egg powder and because the dough seemed dry. Conclusion: These were amazing! I'm glad I cut the brown sugar - it was just the right amount of sweetness. The oil definitely had a lot to do with why these came out so good. I bet it could be cut and a little water added and still make a good cookie, but I won't bother to try it. They might only be a 4-star cookie if not in a jar, since I am conservative in my ratings and my family liked these cookies but didn't rave about them for hours; but because the quantities were sized for gift-giving right off the bat, I am giving this a definite 5-star. A big thank you to the author of this recipe for making this part of my holiday gift-giving easy to work out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Omitted coconut and used frosted corn flakes in place of wheat flakes. There were different, but still tasted good. I don't know if I would make these often, but if your looking for something new every once in awhile then these are worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Good cookies and very nice gift. Be sure to use a quart jar to get ingr to fit. Also, you can lessen white sugar amount (1/4 cup still tastes good) to help get it all in the same jar. Cranberries in place of raisins, and an added 1/4 C choc chips worked well in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylovestoeat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Well these look fab, im going to make some for a gift for Christmas which i will present in pretty box, i also like the idea that another reviewer has done and added white chips to them, i will add milk or dark chocolate chips as the person im giving them to isn't too keen on white chocolate. I think milk or dark choc will also work fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jooles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgwater, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Yay! I was desperate for a cookie recipe with coconut for a surprise visit I was receiving. Most recipes called for chocolate and nuts or were a macaroon recipe. This recipe not only fulfilled my needs with my limited pantry, but the cookies it made were so scrumptious that my guests asked for the recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was a delicious recipe! The cookies are yummy & easy! I used the craisins vs raisins & will be giving these out as gifts this year. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
The cookies are delicious! (Had to try them before giving them as gifts.) The only problem I had was fitting everything into a quart jar. I really packaged it tight, but found that I needed to eliminate 1/4 cup of the coconut. Everything fit in the jar by doing that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States