Raisin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
Great! Family of 7 children..all loved it! Thanks..submit more vintage recipes..love them...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2001
Five stars for vegans and those who don't have the standard eggs, milk or butter on hand, three or four stars for everyone else. I enjoyed it and it had a unique, spicy taste, but it's not the best cake I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Love this cake! I started making it for my two vegan sons but it's a favorite around our house, too. I've tried two different versions but this version (boiling the spices) gives better flavor and nice color, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I used coconut oil instead of shortening and, instead of brown sugar, used about 75% Evaporated Cane Juice and 25% a combo of Yacon syrup and agave nectar. Bake time 50 minutes. It turned out divinely. GREAT for dessert, even unfrosted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Moraga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Excellent recipe- it produced a dense, moist loaf that was excellent for breakfast or a light snack. Be sure to sift the dry ingredients just as the recipe says. I also adjusted the spices to suit my taste- 1 1/2 tsps cinnamon, 1 tsp freshly grated nutmeg and 1/4 tsp ground cardamom. Yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PJ Chmiel
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I multiplied the recipe by 1.5 to make a double-layer cake in 8" pans and it worked well (see photo!). We found the cake delicious (I used a vegan "buttercream" frosting and raisins for decoration) but it turned out somewhat dry; not sure why. Next time I will do something to add more moisture, maybe a little more shortening or some milled flaxseed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJ Chmiel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Excellent recipe,been baking a lot so ran out if eggs,gave this recipe a shot,super simple ,only change I made was add 1/2 cup butter ,did not have shortening ! Will be making this cake several more times before the year ends:) thank you terry:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fauzia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Cake came out moist and for Someone who doesn't like cakes,I enjoyed this. Hubby also loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
love this recipe! easy, fool proof! I could send a picture of some crumbs. Maybe next time I'll add a photograph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States