Raisin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
Great! Family of 7 children..all loved it! Thanks..submit more vintage recipes..love them...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2001
Five stars for vegans and those who don't have the standard eggs, milk or butter on hand, three or four stars for everyone else. I enjoyed it and it had a unique, spicy taste, but it's not the best cake I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Love this cake! I started making it for my two vegan sons but it's a favorite around our house, too. I've tried two different versions but this version (boiling the spices) gives better flavor and nice color, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Excellent recipe- it produced a dense, moist loaf that was excellent for breakfast or a light snack. Be sure to sift the dry ingredients just as the recipe says. I also adjusted the spices to suit my taste- 1 1/2 tsps cinnamon, 1 tsp freshly grated nutmeg and 1/4 tsp ground cardamom. Yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I used coconut oil instead of shortening and, instead of brown sugar, used about 75% Evaporated Cane Juice and 25% a combo of Yacon syrup and agave nectar. Bake time 50 minutes. It turned out divinely. GREAT for dessert, even unfrosted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Moraga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PJ Chmiel
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I multiplied the recipe by 1.5 to make a double-layer cake in 8" pans and it worked well (see photo!). We found the cake delicious (I used a vegan "buttercream" frosting and raisins for decoration) but it turned out somewhat dry; not sure why. Next time I will do something to add more moisture, maybe a little more shortening or some milled flaxseed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJ Chmiel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Excellent recipe,been baking a lot so ran out if eggs,gave this recipe a shot,super simple ,only change I made was add 1/2 cup butter ,did not have shortening ! Will be making this cake several more times before the year ends:) thank you terry:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fauzia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
love this recipe! easy, fool proof! I could send a picture of some crumbs. Maybe next time I'll add a photograph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States