Raisin Buttermilk Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
So I followed the recipe to a "T" although not until i had already made the topping did i realize that the correct way to make the crumble top and center would be with cold butter or margarine instead of melted. and well i turned out great the taste was great either way i only wish i hadn't trusted the recipe on this one small detail everything else was great! Awesome flavor great texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shuarwai

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
OMG! If I could rate a recipe higher it would be this one. I had some buttermilk that had to be used up so when I found this recipe I thought I would give it a try. I am really glad I did.......as are my friends and husband. The cake is so moist and delicious. I plumped up the raisins in some boiling water but other than that followed the recipe exactly. I know I will be buying buttermilk again just so I can make this cake again. I have found many recipes on this site that I have enjoyed but this one is one of the best. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
My daughter said it was the best thing I have ever made. That is saying a lot since I bake all of the time. Is good without raisins and nuts (my daughter hates both so omitted them :-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irish506

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Very good! But, if substituting with blueberries, USE FRESH! I used frozen (thawed them and even drained them and the cake did not bake well around them - mushy -- and would have burnt the top had I baked it longer. Great taste. I did 1.5 times the topping and added 2 tsp. vanilla to the batter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This is my first try at a coffe cake , and it is the best I have tasted !! Like I read in the reviews , I also added vanilla to the cake batter and doubled the topping , instead of nuts , I used more rasins . But you better make a lot , as this cake disapears real fast !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catfish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Very yummy. I love baked goods with buttermilk, they are usually so moist (like this one). I make one and a half times the topping and add 2t vanilla to the cake.Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Very good flavour with this cake, but it is a very dense cake, does not rise much, for anyone expecting more of a regular, light, fluffy cake, this isn't it. Rave reviews though by hubs and inlaws. I made mine in a Bundt pan and put half the crumb topping on the bottom, then half the batter, then the remaining topping and batter. Baked for almost an hour until toothpick came out clean. Will make again, but may put some spices in the batter as it is a little bland (the crumb topping isn't enough IMO to liven up the rest of the cake)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Hubby and I love this. Hubby never requests anything sweet and he's asked me to make this every day for a week. Instead of all white sugar, I use a cup of brown sugar and half a cup of white. Also, I use two caps of vanilla. Those are my only changes though. I have found that I have to use the full amount of time. It's worth it though. Yum. Yum. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tabor, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This was a delicious coffee cake, but the specified time was not long enough for a glass pan. I had to add at least 20 minutes. The directions say to use melted butter in the topping mixture, which I did, but I did not get a "crumb" topping. It was more clumpy. Next time, I will use softened butter and add the nuts after the other ingredients are combined for the topping, so it will be more like streusel. I did follow one reviewer's advice to use 2 c. blueberries instead of raisins. Perhaps that was the reason for the additional bake time. The cake had an excellent, tender crumb, and it rose well, so overall I was satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
FANTASTIC!!! Have made over and over and it never disappoints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States