Raisin Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2001
I can't even give this recipe a star. There has to be something missing from the recipe. I've made it twice thinking the first time that my yeast was bad. I bought new yeast. It doesn't rise and is yucky when it is baked. Sorry, but I won't waste my ingredients on it again until someone tells me what is missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
The only thing I changed was that I used wheat bread flour. I also doubled the raisins because I love them so much! The recipe is extremely easy with minimal ingredients and great taste! I really enjoyed the bread! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2001
This was unusual in that there is no sugar! The raisins provide the sweetener and this is a very good bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
very easy, and tastes great! only thing I'd change is to add more raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
My husband, who can be picky,loved it! ~ I had to add more yeast for my bread machine. What I liked best...low sugar, low fat, and still tastes terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
We loved it. I changed it in two ways. I let it rise twice, once in the bowl and once in the pans. I also dribbled white icing on one finished loaf. Two of us ate the first loaf in two days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
i really enjoyed the ease of this recipe, and the fact that it had no added sugar. i added about a third of a cup of honey to it, mixed it in the bread machine and then baked it in the oven because it's always so much better that way. (350 for 25-30 minutes) i also used becel instead of lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lebrun family

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
I did not like this bread at all. I like big plump rasins in my raisin bread, and because this recipe said to just add them in the beginning and not at the "add ingredients" single, they were all chopped up. When done you can't even tell it has raisins in it, and you can barely taste them. It also needed more cinnamon, a bit of sugar, and less yeast--it tasted too yeasty and not like the typical raisin bread I'm used to. I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This recipe was very easy and turned out the best of any bread machine recipe I have tried. I used 1 1/2 c bread flour and 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour. I used butter instead of lard. I also added 1 t. fructose, because I was worried that the yeast wouldn't work properly without sugar. The loaf came out light and airy. I love this recipe for a hearty, healthy and tasty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
Something is definitely missing from this recipe. It did not rise or bake correctly. A yucky mess. I will not waste ingredients trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States