Raisin Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2001
This was unusual in that there is no sugar! The raisins provide the sweetener and this is a very good bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2001
I can't even give this recipe a star. There has to be something missing from the recipe. I've made it twice thinking the first time that my yeast was bad. I bought new yeast. It doesn't rise and is yucky when it is baked. Sorry, but I won't waste my ingredients on it again until someone tells me what is missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
My husband, who can be picky,loved it! ~ I had to add more yeast for my bread machine. What I liked best...low sugar, low fat, and still tastes terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
very easy, and tastes great! only thing I'd change is to add more raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
We loved it. I changed it in two ways. I let it rise twice, once in the bowl and once in the pans. I also dribbled white icing on one finished loaf. Two of us ate the first loaf in two days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
The only thing I changed was that I used wheat bread flour. I also doubled the raisins because I love them so much! The recipe is extremely easy with minimal ingredients and great taste! I really enjoyed the bread! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
Really a nice raisin bread! I use half raisins, half mixed peel because I like the flavour it adds, plus I add a bit of extra fruit! Turns out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
I did not like this bread at all. I like big plump rasins in my raisin bread, and because this recipe said to just add them in the beginning and not at the "add ingredients" single, they were all chopped up. When done you can't even tell it has raisins in it, and you can barely taste them. It also needed more cinnamon, a bit of sugar, and less yeast--it tasted too yeasty and not like the typical raisin bread I'm used to. I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
Something is definitely missing from this recipe. It did not rise or bake correctly. A yucky mess. I will not waste ingredients trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
This bread turned out so good! It's not too sweet, but is sweet enough with the raisins. I almost ate the entire loaf by myself. I gave the recipe to my mom, I guess my sibling demolished two loaves in a day! Awesome recipe. Will keep making it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States