Raisin Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
Good for a non yeast bread. Very easy. I sifted the dry ingredients, used 1/2 cup less flour, and added about 1/3 c applesauce and 2 tsp cinnamon as others suggested. I also used a duck egg which is richer and bigger than a chicken egg. I used 3/4 cup of evaporated milk (unsweetened) with 1/4 cup water because I didn't have fresh milk on hand. I baked 55 mins exactly. Its not crumbly, but dense and moist with a crunchy edge, reminds me of my favorite banana bread but cinnamon raisin instead. I will definately be making this again, my daughter (17 months) loves it. I just ate the end crust piece so fast I thought I might have put it down somewhere but I couldn't find it, must have inhaled it. Mmmm good! Well, for a quick bread ;) I still love my yeast breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. B
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Don't let the lower ratings fool you! This bread is excellent with the 1/2 cup of applesauce and 2 tsp. cinnamon added. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing it, Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This bread turned out great with some changes. After reading the reviews, I eliminated the butter and added 3/4 cup of natural applesauce. I also added more raisins due to personal preference and 2 teaspoons of cinn. I baked for 55 mins and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Very good! I cut the flour to 2 1/2 cups and added 1/2 cup applesauce, and it turned out very nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
iam glad i read the reviews.i folllowed this recipe and did just as izofamily recommended to put 1/2 cup of applesauce in with the wet ingrediants and add extra cinnamon..this was very very good,simple and much faster than using a yeast based recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS.D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2005
Not very good. Tried what others suggested by adding applesauce, still came out very dry and crumbly. I wont make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Landisville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
I made this recipe using the suggestion of adding 1/2 cup applesauce and 2 tsp. cinnamon. It was still dry and very crumbly. I think it could still use more cinnamon and a little more sugar. It's tasty but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Smelled great so we were all excited but then we tasted it. It was sooooo dry. Maybe adding some vegetable oil or applesauce to it and increasing the bake time would make it more moist. Will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
Dry, but pretty good. I'll try it again using two cups of flour. Three is a lot for just one loaf. I substituted half cup oats half cup raisins for the full cup raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
After reading the other reviews I was concerned about ending up with a dry, crumbly loaf so here's how I altered the recipe. I added 1/2 cup of applesauce to the wet ingredients, increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp and shortened the baking time to 55 minutes. The result was very tasty and not dry. I couldn't really taste the cinnamon so I might even use 2 tsp next time. My kids gave it a "very good." Overall a good quick bread that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States