Raisin Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I put in extra milk and the bread was still pretty crumbly. it had a nice taste and was definitely really hearty, good with butter on it. but I'd definitely suggest altering it with apple sauce like others did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I added 1/3 cup apple sauce. Moist and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Oh wow, this bread is awesome! I followed suit and added 1/3 a cup of applesauce and a full tablespoon of cinnamon. This bread came out moist and delicious - I've eaten three slices and it hasn't even cooled yet,lol Good and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frog_Prince

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This is a super quick & easy recipe that smells great while cooking. It came out VERY dense and a little bit dry. Next time, I'll take the suggetion to add applesauce to the wet ingredients. I upped the cinnamon to 1-1/4 tsp, next time I'll try about 2 tsp, to try to get an actual cinnamon taste. This bread does toast well, though. I will make it again and hope for slightly different results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I followed the recipe, except for mixing some butter with margarine (I was simply running low on butter). I loved it! I love how it's dense... much different from the store bought raisin bread. I had to use my hands to mix the dough together. Quick and easy. Tastes the best simply toasted and buttered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
this SMELLED WONDERFUL while cooking, but came out very hard and dry, without much cinamon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
It's good,family really liked it.We'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This was pretty good. I made the first batch as stated and it was a bit bland but not bad. The second batch I made I added extra cinnamon, raisins and sugar. It was better but I like strong flavors. Still a great recipe and very versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I followed the other's reviews and added 1/2 cup applesauce, used 2 - 1/2 cups flour and 2 tsp of cinnamon. I also reduced raisins to 3/4 cup and added 1/4 cup chopped walnuts. Plus I used 2 tsp of baking powder and it still rose to the point that it stuck to the top of the toaster oven. And burnt slightly. And made a mess for me to clean. Hm... a bit bland. I didn't like the texture much either. Maybe 1/2 cup applesauce was too much- perhaps I'll try 1/3 cup next time if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I made this for my friend and she loved it.. and so did her son! I loved this recipe, but perhaps next time, I'll go lighter on the baking powder.. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States