Raisin Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
After reading the other reviews I was concerned about ending up with a dry, crumbly loaf so here's how I altered the recipe. I added 1/2 cup of applesauce to the wet ingredients, increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp and shortened the baking time to 55 minutes. The result was very tasty and not dry. I couldn't really taste the cinnamon so I might even use 2 tsp next time. My kids gave it a "very good." Overall a good quick bread that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This bread turned out great with some changes. After reading the reviews, I eliminated the butter and added 3/4 cup of natural applesauce. I also added more raisins due to personal preference and 2 teaspoons of cinn. I baked for 55 mins and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2000
This is an excellent recipe. My husband loved it. He cut a slice and put ice cream on top with hot fudge. He was in heaven. It's great with whipped cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
This was great! It's so quick to make.... and to get gone too. I love raisins and I will definitly bake this recipe again. I used 2 mini loaf and reduced the baking time to 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
The bread came out kind of dry and crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
GREAT WHEN TOASTED!!!!!! VERY EASY TO MAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Followed the instructions exactly and the bread came out perfect. This was easy and quick and my boyfriend loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by araquiel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. B
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Don't let the lower ratings fool you! This bread is excellent with the 1/2 cup of applesauce and 2 tsp. cinnamon added. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing it, Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
Quite possibly the worst recipe I've ever tried. I read the previous reviews and tried to make adjustments so the bread wouldn't come out dry. I cut the baking time by ten minutes and used jumbo eggs instead of large, thinking that the extra liquid might help. Unfortunately the bread still came out dry and tasteless. I wouldn't recommend wasting ingredients and time with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Oh wow, this bread is awesome! I followed suit and added 1/3 a cup of applesauce and a full tablespoon of cinnamon. This bread came out moist and delicious - I've eaten three slices and it hasn't even cooled yet,lol Good and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frog_Prince

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States