Raisin Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2000
This is an excellent recipe. My husband loved it. He cut a slice and put ice cream on top with hot fudge. He was in heaven. It's great with whipped cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
This was great! It's so quick to make.... and to get gone too. I love raisins and I will definitly bake this recipe again. I used 2 mini loaf and reduced the baking time to 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
GREAT WHEN TOASTED!!!!!! VERY EASY TO MAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
The bread came out kind of dry and crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
This bread is dense, not like a bread you'd use to make a sandwich. It's somewhat crumbly too, but the taste was great. I added a little more sugar and cinnamon and milk, and used golden raisins (which sort of carmelized when the loaf baked and were very tasty ). So good either right out of the oven or toasted with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
Quite possibly the worst recipe I've ever tried. I read the previous reviews and tried to make adjustments so the bread wouldn't come out dry. I cut the baking time by ten minutes and used jumbo eggs instead of large, thinking that the extra liquid might help. Unfortunately the bread still came out dry and tasteless. I wouldn't recommend wasting ingredients and time with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
After reading the other reviews I was concerned about ending up with a dry, crumbly loaf so here's how I altered the recipe. I added 1/2 cup of applesauce to the wet ingredients, increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp and shortened the baking time to 55 minutes. The result was very tasty and not dry. I couldn't really taste the cinnamon so I might even use 2 tsp next time. My kids gave it a "very good." Overall a good quick bread that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
Dry, but pretty good. I'll try it again using two cups of flour. Three is a lot for just one loaf. I substituted half cup oats half cup raisins for the full cup raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Smelled great so we were all excited but then we tasted it. It was sooooo dry. Maybe adding some vegetable oil or applesauce to it and increasing the bake time would make it more moist. Will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
I made this recipe using the suggestion of adding 1/2 cup applesauce and 2 tsp. cinnamon. It was still dry and very crumbly. I think it could still use more cinnamon and a little more sugar. It's tasty but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States