Raisin Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
This bread is dense, not like a bread you'd use to make a sandwich. It's somewhat crumbly too, but the taste was great. I added a little more sugar and cinnamon and milk, and used golden raisins (which sort of carmelized when the loaf baked and were very tasty ). So good either right out of the oven or toasted with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
This was great! It's so quick to make.... and to get gone too. I love raisins and I will definitly bake this recipe again. I used 2 mini loaf and reduced the baking time to 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. B
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Don't let the lower ratings fool you! This bread is excellent with the 1/2 cup of applesauce and 2 tsp. cinnamon added. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing it, Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Followed the instructions exactly and the bread came out perfect. This was easy and quick and my boyfriend loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by araquiel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I followed the recipe, except for mixing some butter with margarine (I was simply running low on butter). I loved it! I love how it's dense... much different from the store bought raisin bread. I had to use my hands to mix the dough together. Quick and easy. Tastes the best simply toasted and buttered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Fantastic recipe, after reading reviews I added a pat more of butter and reduced cooking time to 45 minutes. I will be making this recipe many times over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2000
This is an excellent recipe. My husband loved it. He cut a slice and put ice cream on top with hot fudge. He was in heaven. It's great with whipped cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I changed the recipe just enough to make it more moist and to add more flavor. I added 1/2 apple sauce, 1 heaping tablespoon of brown sugar, 2 tsp cinnamon (instead of specified amount), half a cup of chopped walnuts and a splash or two of milk to make more moist. When it was done baking I made a glaze with two tablespoons of sugar, a tsp of cinnamon and 1/4 tsp of vanilla extract, add water until consistancy wanted is achieved (about 1 tablespoon, mix and microwave for 30 seconds, drizzle over top of bread and sprinkle on brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
For me, making this bread just as the recipe calls resulted in a dry, crumbly loaf, just as others have stated. I didn't read the reviews before making this. I must say that I was the only one in my house that was not satisfied with the results. My husband and children made sure it was gone by the end of the evening. Next time I'll try the 1/2 cup of applesauce and cut back on the baking time as suggested in other reviews. Over all I'd say it's worth recommending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I've always liked raisin bread for breakfast but not enough to go and make it. The store brand raisin breads seem to be getting smaller and smaller in California so I began looking all over for a raisin bread that 1) doesn't use a bread machine and 2) doesn't need active yeast. I read the reviews and allowed 55 minutes baking time, but it still came out pretty dry. I would recommend doing 45-50 minutes for this one. I did everything the other reviewers said - adding the 1/2 cup applesauce to the wet ingredients in addition to the butter in the recipe. Wish I'd just gone with 50 minutes - will have to spread some butter on the individual slices when serving to make up for the dryness. Good recipe though - I might try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States