Raisin Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
After reading the other reviews I was concerned about ending up with a dry, crumbly loaf so here's how I altered the recipe. I added 1/2 cup of applesauce to the wet ingredients, increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp and shortened the baking time to 55 minutes. The result was very tasty and not dry. I couldn't really taste the cinnamon so I might even use 2 tsp next time. My kids gave it a "very good." Overall a good quick bread that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This bread turned out great with some changes. After reading the reviews, I eliminated the butter and added 3/4 cup of natural applesauce. I also added more raisins due to personal preference and 2 teaspoons of cinn. I baked for 55 mins and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2000
This is an excellent recipe. My husband loved it. He cut a slice and put ice cream on top with hot fudge. He was in heaven. It's great with whipped cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
This was great! It's so quick to make.... and to get gone too. I love raisins and I will definitly bake this recipe again. I used 2 mini loaf and reduced the baking time to 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
The bread came out kind of dry and crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
GREAT WHEN TOASTED!!!!!! VERY EASY TO MAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Followed the instructions exactly and the bread came out perfect. This was easy and quick and my boyfriend loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by araquiel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. B
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Don't let the lower ratings fool you! This bread is excellent with the 1/2 cup of applesauce and 2 tsp. cinnamon added. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing it, Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
Quite possibly the worst recipe I've ever tried. I read the previous reviews and tried to make adjustments so the bread wouldn't come out dry. I cut the baking time by ten minutes and used jumbo eggs instead of large, thinking that the extra liquid might help. Unfortunately the bread still came out dry and tasteless. I wouldn't recommend wasting ingredients and time with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Oh wow, this bread is awesome! I followed suit and added 1/3 a cup of applesauce and a full tablespoon of cinnamon. This bread came out moist and delicious - I've eaten three slices and it hasn't even cooled yet,lol Good and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frog_Prince

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States