Raised Yeast Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Just was I was looking for. I thought the batter was too thin after waiting the 45 mins but tried it anyhow and thought they came out perfect. I used egg replacement due to allergy and had no issues at all. This is now my favorite waffle recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kitchengal
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This was extremely good. I ended up using a bit more flour as recommended by some other reviewers (maybe an extra half cup) and made certain to use properly warmed milk and eggs. My kids were going nuts like little animals and I left it for an extra 15 to rise while I was chasing them down...the batter was bubbling and hissing and had grown so huge by the time I pulled it out of the warm oven! These tasted terrific, the crispy outside gave way to a tender and moist inside...almost bread like..but more airy and light. VERY delicious waffles. Don't hesitate to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchengal

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Laura Y
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
These waffles are incredibly light and airy on the inside and crispy on the outside - definitely my new "go to waffle recipe!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I've been looking for a recipe for light & airy waffles that taste great. No need to look any longer. I made a batch of these following the recipe exactly and was amazed at how quickly they disappeared when put on the table. Usually there will be a couple waffles left over with other recipes I've used, this time no survivors. I gave this recipe a 5 star rating only because I was not able to give it a 6. The way that these waffles turned out, I see no reason to tweak or change this recipe in any way. Unlike some other recipes that I've read, this one did not seem too involved except for the 45 minute wait time for the yeast to do it's job, but good things are well worth waiting for. Some other recipes and box mixes are faster to prepare but the results are not even close. Thanks Helen, I'll be using this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I would not make these again. They stuck to my griddle and were not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Absolute perfection, Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pentwater, Michigan, USA
Living In: Scottville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
These take some time but they always turn out great! I prefer the yeast recipe to the baking powder recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
These are absolutely perfect! Soft and delicious on the inside and crisp on the outside. At first I thought that the batter was too thick but they came out wonderfully. Definitely worth waiting the 45 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
These were pretty good waffles, let them go in the iron and they get nice and crispy. They are surprisingly light (not like the dense bricks you get when using straight pancake batter) I love baking bread so the yeast addition added a nice bit of flavor and additional lightness. As far as those who whined about the yeast, here's a hint not everything is supposed to taste like it came from a fast food restaurant. UPDATE : To make these AWESOME waffles, cut the butter in half and add an addition 1/4 cup of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States