Rainbow Veggie Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
We've tried this a couple of times and absolutely loved it. Last night I made it again and changed a few things and we loved it even more. If I could've given it more than 5 I would! No zucchini, (don't like it) and I used fire roasted diced tomatoes instead of the crushed. I also added carrots, celery, parsley, an extra tbsp of chili powder, veggie bouillon cubes, 1 tsp coriander, 1 tsp cumin, 2 cups water and, believe it or not, 12 oz light beer. It was absolutely great. The only thing I will say about this is, that even with the beer and the extra water, it is incredibly thick, which is we really like, but I always cook it in a crockpot instead of on the stove. I would think it could tend to stick if cooked on the stove and not watched very carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Very good chili. I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This chili is so delish! I served it to a group of my friends and our kids after an afternoon at the pumpkin farm. Everyone loved it and went back for seconds and thirds! I've always wanted a go-to chili recipe and this will definitely be it. The slight crunch of veggies, perfect amount of spice and richness of tomato make this chili so comforting. The only change I made was adding ground turkey, which I browned and added in with the beans. I will make this for many tailgates and fall meals to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Changed things a bit. Used one lb of ground beef and two leftover brats chopped up, omitted the corn and jalapeno, and just used red beans. Spices used were 1 tbsp of hot chili powder, 1/2 tsp of cumin, oregano, black pepper, and paprika and one tsp of chipotle seasoning. Great combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Great easy recipe, my hubby and I love veggies so added extra of all and also added mushrooms for a "meaty" quality and garbanzo beans too. I up the flavors with extra chili powder to taste and some cumin. My husband always raves about this dish and can't wait to eat the leftovers ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This recipe is the best veggie chili hands down I have made. The only substitution I made was. I did not know what the canned chili in spicy sauce was so I used a can of Trader Joes organic veggie chili. Recipe came out awesome. No one missed the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Really yummy! Only thing I would do is increase the chili powder, but that's just my personal preference. My 16-month old gobbled this up too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This chili was awesome. I plan to make it again and again. It was a big hit on Christmas Eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Very good. I added cumin. I may exchange corn for hominy or forgo grain altogether. I will definitely skip the tomato paste next round but found it very fresh and flavorful and just spicy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I used chili beans in medium sauce and cut back on the cayenne, but this was still a bit too much on the spicy side for us. I would need to reduce the jalapeno also I think to make this better. But, I also feel that this recipe gets most of its flavor from the heat; there was not much else exciting going on with it other than that. I think I will stick with my regular chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States