Rainbow Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Don't be fooled by the time on this recipe . . .it takes longer, but it's an easy recipe. If you want to make it, bear these things in mind: you can make the jello one at a time (you do not need to go by these directions that dirty numerous bowls), you really can let a lot of time go by in between making the layers (really, this could be an all day endeavor but I wouldn't stress it--I just would make it the day before you need it at least and you can walk away), and you can use any flavor jello you want. You really don't have to make a rainbow, although that makes it very pretty, and I did leave out a few colors because I just didn't have them. You end up with a bit extra of the evaporated milk if you use a regular can that is 12 oz, but I decided not to sweat it and just reduced the water and used up the rest of the evaporated milk in the last jello layer so I wouldn't have to figure out what to do with a half cup of evaporated milk. This is just jello, so don't be expecting a wow recipe . . .and people who don't like jello probably won't be thrilled, but if you like a bunch of jello flavors, it will probably be fun for you and your family. My best tip was from one of the reviewers here, and that was to let the jello cool to room temp before pouring on top of each layer. You don't have to, but it makes it much easier to make sure the previous jello layers don't melt. If I make this again, I may try using ginger ale or something with the layers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RaeCafe
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I have a few things to say 1. It takes more than 1 hour and 20 minutes to make more like 5 hours. 2. Next time I would try to not do the milky layers. And you could also use different flavors like the rainbow. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Kids loved it for easter, but I don't think I'll make it again.... took too long (all morning).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
its tasty and came out nicely but it certainly is not a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I love this recipe and have used one similar before. The other one calls for whipping cream (1/2 per layer) mixed in with every layer which also works well if you don't have evaporated milk on hand. I make my layers one at a time and cool them in the freezer, which speeds up the process. A very tasty treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
this was super delicious i made it for easter and my siblings loved it!!!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
OMG! this is to die for! I had absolutely no problem making this. I let mine sit in fridge for 1 hr & 10 minutes in between each layer. Yes it's time consuming but well worth it. Made it for work we had a turkey pot luck and i was asked to share recipe. Will make it again, and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I made this last week for my nieces birthday and everyone loved it! There was none left over. The condensed milk gave it a creamy sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by JasBradley
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I didn't make all the jello at one time, I made 2 at a time, just like other reviewers suggested. Turned out pretty good and people really liked it. I added coolwhip to the top with sliced kiwis and quartered strawberries. Used it at a birthday cake type dessert for my husband's grandmother's 86th birthday :) I also mixed it up and used different flavors: berry blue, mango, fruit punch, lemon, lime and cherry lemonade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This is a fantastic and fun dessert but the directions are terrible! You have to mix the Jello step by step and wait. First of all make sure you have a level shelf with enough space for your container in the fridge. Second, mix your first package of Jell-o with 1 1/2 c boiling water. Pour this in your container and put in the fridge. Set the timer for about 45 minutes and in about 15 minutes prepare the second layer: mix the 2nd box of Jell-o with 1 cup boiling water and 1/2 cup of sweetened condensed milk. When the layer in the fridge is set, gently pour the room temp/not boiling Jell-o/milk mixture on top. Third: Set the timer for 30 minutes, mix another package of Jell-o with 1 1/2 cups boiling water. When timer goes off, gently pour room temp mix onto layer. Fourth, Set the timer for 30 minutes and prepare a Jell-o/ milk layer. Keep going from step three until finished. You have to wait longer for the first layer, because you put it in the fridge boiling whereas the subsequent layers are not so so hot. You guessed it this takes a long time, so make it when you need to clean the house or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States