Rainbow Roasted Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This is a pretty soup, but it was too much effort for a taste that was not sensational. I used cumin instead of fennel and did not add thyme . . . perhaps that made all the difference? I think I prefer my peppers cut up ad fried with onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Leia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kapolei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I loooooove this soup, minus the thyme cause I've never like thyme. I'm still giving it 5 stars cause it's aaaamazing! :-) My husband doesn't like it though, more for me! Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Excellent recipe. We have so many peppers in our garden that this was so welcome! In order to make it thicker, I also roasted one baking potato and then, using a immersion blender pureed it in the broth before adding the peppers. Gave a great texture and smoothness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Excellent soup and really quite easy. I used red peppers instead of a mix (would have preferred the mix, but we had a bag of red, so used what I had) and anise rather than a trip to the store to replenish the fennel and even with all that it was amazing. Neither my husband nor I are big pepper fans and yet both of us finished our bowls. We did find that a dash of sour cream was the perfect garnish for us. So very, very good. Thanks for coming up with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This was tasty, although I did make some modifications. I doubled the recipe and also increased the garlic to 22 cloves. I used 5 cups of vegetable broth to 8 peppers. I only used 1 1/2 tsp. fennel seed but think I'll use the full 2 tsp. next time. I added more lemon juice and some sea salt after my first tasting. Goat cheese made an excellent garnish, although I think feta would be good, too. Next time I prepare this, I plan to roast some jalapeno with the bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by karlasullivan923@yahoo.com
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Made this exactly as written. Tried to take skin off peppers, but it was really hard so I left some on. This soup is AMAZING and so flavorful! I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Good soup and pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I followed the recipe as stated except I used anise instead of fennel. I had a bit of trouble getting the skins off the peppers because I've never done it before. It didn't say how long to simmer the broth and fennel so I did it for about 10 minutes after it started to boil. It was great just as is. I added lemon zest from half of the lemon before putting the left overs in the fridge. It was really good when reheated, with a zip from the lemon and kick from the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Yummy soup! I don't like green bell peppers so I added extra red. The fennel is a great touch! I also substituted fresh thyme for dry and added the zest of the lemon to the vegetable stock. This soup was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelee
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I made this for dinner tonight and all I can say is WOW! It was so tasty and it made the house smell wonderful when the peppers and garlic were roasting. It was also very filling for less than 200 calories. Its perfect for those of us on a weightloss journey. I substituted ground cumin for the fennel seed because I didn't have any. I was also out of lemon so I used a little white wine vinegar instead. This is recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States