Rainbow Pasta Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I make a pasta salad very similar to this one, but it is also really good if you add a jar of mccormick salad supreme seasoning. You can also add pepperoni, mushroom, cheese or whatever suits your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wenjem

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This is a great start. I use cherry or grape tomatoes, red onion, black olives, pepperoni, small chuncks of cheddar cheese, 1/3 c. shredded parmesan, Zesti Italian with a dash of vinegar and pinch of mint. This will not break down as cut tomatoes and cucumbers will...lasts a week in fridge. Always there for a hungry soul.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Super good. Same salad as used for Alissa & Mikes groomsmen supper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I have made this for years with out a "recipe". I always just add the amounts that look good and I prefer it with the t marzettis sweet italian dressing in the salad section of the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This is close to my dad's recipe. My husband and I loved it! Easy to make too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I don't know why I tried this recipe because it's lacks two of my favorite pasta salad ingredients: celery and shredded carrots. However, it was really great. I made a homemade creamy italian dressing (the one from this site with onion, may, italian herbs, salt, pepper, vinegar and sugar). I never buy bottled dressings anymore. They're so easy and so cheap to make at home. I didn't have cucumbers like I thought I did and I did miss them. I used sliced green olives instead... They added extra briney zip that I would only recommend if you LIKE olives already. I'll be serving this for 4th of July. It already got rave reviews from my boyfriend, so its a keeper and great to work from. (One more thing: I used campanelle pasta, it's one of my favorite for pasta salads)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I used only 1/2 of a red onion and not quite an entire bottle of fat free Italian dressing. I also added some garlic, basil, and oregano to taste. It was good, but not quite out-of-this-world good. Easy to throw together for a potluck, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Once again, a great "basic" recipe with plenty of opportunity for variation. My tips for a gorgeous and delicious salad: 1) don't overcook the pasta. your salad will turn to into a broken mushy mess. 2) you MUST refrigerate this for at least 4 hours. even if you start with cold ingredients, the flavors must have time to come together. 3) cheap salad dressing will ruin this dish. go for the good stuff, whatever you use. 4) the salad is not meant to be "wet & drippy". go easy on the dressing. add salad seasoning or spices from your own rack if it needs a kick. 5) grape tomatoes cut in half and english cucumber keep the salad from getting soggy. 6) whatever spice you use, stay away from salt. it will make the tomatoes and cucumbers run. 7) don't be tempted to add too much liquid. your veggies will create more juice and the longer the salad sits, it will get wetter and your noodles will continue to swell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This is very similar to the pasta salad that I've made for years. Instead of using tomatoes and cucumbers, I add chopped green and red peppers, cubed mozzarella cheese, sliced pepperoni and sliced back olives. Of course, red onion is always a must. I've had other pasta salads made with tomatoes and cucumbers as well and they are yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Big Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Delicious and healthy salad! I also add green, red, or yellow bell peppers, shredded carrot, and celery. Then I marinate it in fat-free Zesty Italian Dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States