Rainbow Pasta Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Once again, a great "basic" recipe with plenty of opportunity for variation. My tips for a gorgeous and delicious salad: 1) don't overcook the pasta. your salad will turn to into a broken mushy mess. 2) you MUST refrigerate this for at least 4 hours. even if you start with cold ingredients, the flavors must have time to come together. 3) cheap salad dressing will ruin this dish. go for the good stuff, whatever you use. 4) the salad is not meant to be "wet & drippy". go easy on the dressing. add salad seasoning or spices from your own rack if it needs a kick. 5) grape tomatoes cut in half and english cucumber keep the salad from getting soggy. 6) whatever spice you use, stay away from salt. it will make the tomatoes and cucumbers run. 7) don't be tempted to add too much liquid. your veggies will create more juice and the longer the salad sits, it will get wetter and your noodles will continue to swell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This is very similar to the pasta salad that I've made for years. Instead of using tomatoes and cucumbers, I add chopped green and red peppers, cubed mozzarella cheese, sliced pepperoni and sliced back olives. Of course, red onion is always a must. I've had other pasta salads made with tomatoes and cucumbers as well and they are yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Big Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Delicious and healthy salad! I also add green, red, or yellow bell peppers, shredded carrot, and celery. Then I marinate it in fat-free Zesty Italian Dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This is exactly where to start...add green pepper chunks, onion, pepperoni, bites of sharp cheese, black olives..or whatever you like. Excellent and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was quick and easy!! I love pasta so this was a hit. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I plan to ditch the cucumber add olives and pepperoni. I might throw in zuccini for fun since I am not a big cucumber fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyLane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Very easy to make & tasty too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I made this pasta salad and loved it, I just added black olives, chunks of cheese, and broccoli, i will be making this again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yolieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Great!!! I added olives
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIA_ARTIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Great salad for pot luck lunches at work! I cook the pasta and prepare the other ingredients the night before then assemble at the party. It's simple to make and tastes great. This salad has been a big hit with co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States