Rainbow Pasta Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Delish! Been making this for years. I cook my pasta the day before and marinate them with about 3/4 of the salad dressing. The next day I add the other ingredients and then the remainder of the salad dressing. Sometimes I vary the veggies and add onions, bell pepper, tomatoes, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I gave this 5 starts BUT I used all the suggestions from the other reviewers -but it was AWESOME. It got rave reviews when I took it to my BBQ and DH is asking for it again. He said it is better than my old pasta salad that was so much more work! I used a combination of creamy italian and a zesty italian vinegarette. More creamy italian than vinagerette. I used about 3/4 bottle combined. About 7 oz of creamy and 4 oz of the vinegarette. I added about a cup of artichoke hearts, 1/2 a bottle of vlassic zesty pepper rings, and a 6oz bag of sliced sun-dried tomatoes. I left out the broccoli and the pepperoni. I chilled it over-night and it was even better the next day. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb. B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Diamond Vale, Diego Martin, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
AWESOME AS IS RECIPE! I am picky about pasta salad and THIS WAS VERY GOOD! Since the original recipe, I too have played with it, added other veggies, and it ALWAYS COMES OUT GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4everLuuvd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I made a number of changes based on preference, and was very pleased with the result. I used hard salami instead of pepperoni, and about 1/2 a bottle of Olive Garden italian dressing. I used bowtie pasta, and added diced cucumbers, red onion, green olives, and cherry tomatoes. I substituted shredded parmesan for the shredded mozzarella. Very good right away, and I'm sure it will improve with some time in the fridge. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hettinger, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
The best pasta salad I ever had. I followed a reviewers suggestion and used Good Seasons dressing. I made a mistake with the first packet and added 1/2 cup of water instead of oil. I left it at that and added the oil then another packet following the box directions exactly. The added water made a milder flavoring so I'm going to keep it that way for the next time I make it. I used half a box of shells, cut up red pepper, 1/4 of a vidalia onion, broccoli, cherry tomatoes and Hormel pepperoni. For half a box of pasta the 2 packets of seasonings made the salad just right, not dry and not swimming in dressing. For something different, I now use a box of spiral pasta and half a bag of cooked and cooled cheese ravioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
My husband and I loved this salad after I made a few changes. I did try it as stated also but we liked it better after the changes. I added parmesan instead of moz. cheese and I only added about half the dressing called for. I also added some grape tomatoes sliced in half and the second time I made it, I added salami instead of pepperoni. It hits the spot on a hot summer evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I use good seasons italian dressing packets, it's the best dressing for pasta salad i've come across thus far. Cherry/Grape tomatoes and grated parmasean are a must. Artichokes are a nice addition as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mexitaly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
I make this for most of the parties and picnics I go to and people always love it! I get lots of comment on how good it looks. The combination of ingredients makes a really nice presentation. It is VERY easy to make. I use block mozzarella and cut it into cubes instead of the shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This was good, and attractive, but just nothing special about it. I wish it would specify a brand name of Italian dressing since those who tried it and really liked it may have used a bottled dressing that was tastier than the Wishbone brand that I used. I use that brand on green salads so that is why I bought it for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2001
I could eat this for lunch everyday! I used sliced zucchini chunks instead of broccoli. I would use a little less dressing next time. This is so delicious. I served it with popovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States