Rainbow Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Delish.... Just like I get from my favorite Long Island, NY Bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Used almond filling and almond extract in the dough as suggested. Also added 2 T butter and 1/4 cup heavy cream to melted chocolate. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I made them and my family and friends loved them!! I never baked cookies before and apparently I will be making them around the holidays from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This is a good recipe. There is another one called Italian wedding cookies II. They're not terribly different from one another. I have made both several times. You see a three layered cookie, covered in chocolate. Just how EASY did you think it was gonna be? You really have to have some serious hours logged baking before you take on something like this. It really isn't hard to do, you just have to be very patient, and realize that it takes about 24 hours to make properly. If your chocolate is crusty and dry, you scorched it. If the dough is too dry, try using the filling instead of the paste. My best advise? Read revues before starting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Albertson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This is my sons favorite cookie. I made this recipe last night and it was a hit. Everyone that tasted it said it tasted like it was from the Italian Bakery, and I was asked for the recipe. I did tweek it based on other reviews. I used a can of almond filling, added a teaspoon of almond extract, and added the eggs without separating. It also helps that I used a stand mixer. I can't imagine mixing by hand or with a hand mixer. The parchment paper helps to get the dough out of the pans in one clean step. I melted the chocolate with 1/4 cup of heavy/whipping cream and a tablespoon of butter. I will definitely make this again. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Never had these before. My boyfriend was in town from NY and I made them for him. Said amazing recipe and enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Husband picked up almond pie filling instead of almond paste by mistake. Used appx 3/4 of the can...came out great! Cake was nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Loved this recipe! Do not follow others advice and use almond filling instead of the almond paste....it adds way too much additional sugar. Look at the ingredients and you can see that almond filling is just paste with butter and lots of powdered sugar added. But, do break up your filling with a fork and then cream together very well. I used a paddle in my kitchen aid mixer to cream together the sugar and paste first, before adding eggs and butter. What advice did I follow? The addition of 1 tsp almond extract was amazing! And also melting the chocolate with a little butter and cream was also fantastic advice. I had no trouble spreading the batter, or reemoving the cake from the pan (although I did spray the pan and the paper with cooking spray) and 6 drops of coloring was perfect. A lot of work but so worth it...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This is one of my favorite recipes. As many reviewers said, these cookies tasted exactly like the ones from NY bakeries. I took the advice of other reviewers and used almond filling and added some almond extract to the dough. I also added heavy cream and butter to the melted chocolate chips and put chocolate sprinkles all over. I used just seedless raspberry jam. I'm sure the apricot would be good as.well, but it really didn't need it. A wonderful recipe. Penney, thanks so much for sharing !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by di0823

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
These took a long time to make, but boy was it worth it! These are as good if not better than the local brooklyn bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States