Rainbow Citrus Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
To date only nine people have reviewed this recipe over the course of 5-1/2 years and it's such a shame as this is one, awesome cake in so many ways! I hope this review (and my posted pics) will change that! It's very moist, with a large, fluffy, but light and tender crumb. It definitely is fun and pretty, and you can clearly taste the distinct flavor of each of the lime, lemon and orange layers, each as delicious as the next. Given the mixed reviews for the filling and frosting, however, I did not use those particular recipes though I did prepare it with a lemon filling and an orange buttercream - specifically, "Lemon Cream," and "Golden Orange Frosting" - both great recipes as well and both complemented the cake nicely. This is much more labor intensive and time consuming than your average layer cake, but so worth the effort! This was a home run, not just for hubs and I, but with his staff as well. This cake will do any baker proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This is my favorite cake of all time. I got it from Family Circle magazine, and I made it for my 21st birthday the year it came out.....and many times in between. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
Since posting this recipe, many months ago, I have an addendum: if you'd like the layers to taste even more citrus-y, add lemon oil, lime oil, and orange oil to each respective layer. It makes the flavor stand out a lot more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
This cake is FANTASTIC!! Here in Louisiana, it is sometimes hard to find recipes that are light enough to serve in the summer yet still presentable enough for any important occasion... I baked this one for my mom-in-law's retirement party, and there wasn't a scrap left! I'm here printing it again a year later to bake it for a baby shower I'm hosting... Here's something I did to decorate the cake: I stuck with the original recipe, because I like the delicate flavoring of the citrus fruits (I'm sure the oils makes it wonderful, but I like the light flavor!) and I candied orange, lemon and lime peels and used them to decorate the sides of the cake! It's a really easy way to add to the cake without overwhelming it! (Brandi, Baton Rouge, LA)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADY_ALETHEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
This cake is awesome. It makes a very pretty cake and a converstation starter. It requires a bit of work but the end results are well worth the labor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
A most unusual cake that blends flavors together great. I have over 50 baking ribbons and i have never seen a cake like this one.You go Hilary that cake was the tops!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This cake is awesome. A bit of work but well worth it. The 1st time I made it, it did take a a lot of time. After then I organized my work to help the process flow smoothly. Preheat oven, preparing the pans and set aside 3 bowls for each layer (preferably the same size). Next grate the fruit,set aside. Then shift dry ingredients and set aside. Now start the actual creaming and mixing. After the cake goes into the oven, start the filling. While the filling is cooling start the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Fabulous!!!!! Brought this to a cookout and everyone loved it. The cake was so fragrant and light. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of doubling the frosting, I really love frosting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Excellent cake, tasty, tall, and very showy when cut and the rainbow layers are exposed. I will try and sharpen the lime, lemon and orange flavors next time by adding a little lime, lemon and orange oil to each corresponding cake layer. However, the cake was fantastic when the recipe was followed to the T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Everyone loved this cake when I baked for a birthday party this past weekend. Based on the reviews, I did use a different lemon curd recipe than the one linked to here. But I prepared the cake more or less exactly as called for in the recipe, minus the food coloring and possibly a little extra zest. I didn't find the cake especially complicated to prepare, and though it was kind of time consuming, that was only because I only had one cake round and had to bake off each layer one at a time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States