Rainbow Citrus Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Cake is much easier to put together than it sounds. Cake bakes up beautifully and is very sturdy but is dry. Perhaps I baked a little too long or there is too much baking powder which contributed to the dryness. Great eye candy when sliced!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by jessicay
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
FUN. Yes, the cake is a lot of work, but it's so special. I've never seen anything like this anywhere else... neither as the eater or the chef. And what a fascinating combination of flavors and colors. // I was, honestly, grossed out by using shortening, but the end product is tasty. And by the time you're eating it, you've already forgotten what went into it. // I separated the layers with store-bought lemon curd (get the runnier kind, versus the thick gel), and then made the "Golden Orange Frosting" from this site. I love them both with this cake. // This was my first time making the cake, and from preheating to the last washed dish, this took me 3 hours on the dot. // I would absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by windward
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This cake was really fun to make and was a hit with both kids and adults at my friend's 4th of July cookout. I added lemon extract, orange extract, and lime juice to make the layers really flavorful. I also made a basic buttercream frosting with just a bit of the orange extract. I didn't want to over-power the flavors in the cake. On the whole though, it's a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Virginia
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Made this last night, sooooooo good! Did exactly like the receipe, not that hard to make just time consuming but so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Everyone loved this cake when I baked for a birthday party this past weekend. Based on the reviews, I did use a different lemon curd recipe than the one linked to here. But I prepared the cake more or less exactly as called for in the recipe, minus the food coloring and possibly a little extra zest. I didn't find the cake especially complicated to prepare, and though it was kind of time consuming, that was only because I only had one cake round and had to bake off each layer one at a time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
The amount of shortening frightened me and I wanted to cut down on prep time, so I made an adaptation of this recipe using a white cake mix. I used zests as directed but added a tablespoon of lime juice, orange essence, and lemon extract for an extra punch of flavor. The lime layer turned out to be the most mild in flavor and the orange came out tasting quite artificial. I used jarred lemon curd between the layers and then frosted with Cool Whip; so lots of changes, but much quicker and a little lighter in fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noreen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Excellent cake, tasty, tall, and very showy when cut and the rainbow layers are exposed. I will try and sharpen the lime, lemon and orange flavors next time by adding a little lime, lemon and orange oil to each corresponding cake layer. However, the cake was fantastic when the recipe was followed to the T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Noi
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
i was looking for a recipe for my daughter's bday cake. she requested a barbie cake. i wanted to do something diff...not the usually choc cake nor plain vanilla. then i found this. this is perfect since i hv to make the princess's skirt in layers. the contrast of colours- green, yellow, orange were great. n the taste- delish.... hv been making this again n again for guests who don't really like choc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This is my favorite cake of all time. I got it from Family Circle magazine, and I made it for my 21st birthday the year it came out.....and many times in between. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
To date only nine people have reviewed this recipe over the course of 5-1/2 years and it's such a shame as this is one, awesome cake in so many ways! I hope this review (and my posted pics) will change that! It's very moist, with a large, fluffy, but light and tender crumb. It definitely is fun and pretty, and you can clearly taste the distinct flavor of each of the lime, lemon and orange layers, each as delicious as the next. Given the mixed reviews for the filling and frosting, however, I did not use those particular recipes though I did prepare it with a lemon filling and an orange buttercream - specifically, "Lemon Cream," and "Golden Orange Frosting" - both great recipes as well and both complemented the cake nicely. This is much more labor intensive and time consuming than your average layer cake, but so worth the effort! This was a home run, not just for hubs and I, but with his staff as well. This cake will do any baker proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States