Rainbow Citrus Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
it's so hard making a fruity cake that my friends would like but DAMM. the frosting make it even better my vegan friend almost licked it all off. honestly fanciest thing I've ever made and I don't bake ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Not bad. Needs a little tweaking. I'm going to try it again with perhaps a bit more flavoring. I'm definitely not giving up yet. Also my coloring wasn't as distinct as the photo. I might need to bump that up also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Great cake, made it for Easter took the advise of using the golden orange frosting and lemon cream filling. My grandkids loved this cake. I did use Swans Down cake flour instead of all purpose. Will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. The cake was very dry, even with the lemon curd. I had some colored candy dragees in pastel shades so the presentation was great! The buttercream was ok. I had to add more milk because it was too tight to spread but that was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martinevagnier

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I made this for Easter since my husband is a big citrus fan. I used three 8-inch pans (deep Wilton pans) so it made a very tall cake. Also, I did not fill it with lemon curd, but instead made 3 flavors of citrus icing by combining two cups of powdered sugar, 5 T. softened butter, 1/2 t. zest (or more to taste) and enough juice to make a spreadable icing. I then frosted each layer with its accompanying flavor of frosting. It probably would have been just as good if I had made just one flavor of icing (take your pick!) and frosted all the layers with the same icing. The cake crumb is delicate, but a little on the dry side (as most scratch cakes are). Husband loved it. I might make it again for a special occasion; otherwise it is too much cake for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. My cake layers were way too thin and too moist - very hard to work with. My lemon custard wouldn't set up, and my icing was way to thick to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Excellent recipe! I just love the presentation and flavor of this cake. So pretty! I made the cake itself as written and loved the subtle but still tasty citrus flavors. The texture was firm yet moist (those who found it dry almost definitely over-baked it. This is the number one reason for dry cakes). I used a jar of Dickenson's lemon curd and my own recipe for buttercream frosting that I flavored orange. But honestly, I am totally baffled by the reviewers who think this is an overly-time consuming cake. I can only assume that they are comparing this to making a box cake, and even then, this is takes only slightly more time to prepare. I had the cake prepared, in their pans and in the oven in less than 20 minutes. Delicious and truly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I can't wait for summer and our annual big shin-dig! This cake will be perfect for it. The theme is always tropical as we live in Maine and the tropics are THE place everyone here wants to visit, just to get away form the cold and snow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I've made this cake several times, and it's always a big hit. I don't understand all the problems some of you had, this is a pretty simple cake. I'm 74 years old, and when I was a kid my mother used to bake this for the family, in a coal or wood fired cook stove. I'm still using the same pan's she used. She always used lemon curd for the filling, and I'm still using the same recipe. She made the frosting with whipped cream held up with powdered sugar. Never had to worry about left over cake either. I still don't. The whipped cream/cream cheese frosting is a little different when I make it, I use powdered sugar, and more of it, the frosting stands up better this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States