Ragu Bolognese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Good base recipe, definitely add balsamic while it's reducing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boone, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I made this for the first time using white wine and milk, and I must say, I did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
So delicious!...and easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I didn't exactly follow the recipe to a "T", but this recipe gave me the framework for a staple in my home. I don't use as much butter or oil, I use tomato paste instead of sauce, I use white wine and I added a pinch f nutmeg at the end.... It came out excellent, thanks entirely to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I found this recipe to be quite greasy, would probably not use as much oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This is the BEST bolognese I have ever had! I added 1 cup red wine after the meat was cooked and let that reduce. Then followed the recipe, with the addition of a whole 28oz can of crushed tomatoes, rather than the 2 cups called for. Let it simmer away on the stove. Served it over bow tie pasta with some garlic bread. The family LOVED it! Next time, I will try this in the slow cooker, so I don't have to be around 2 1/2 hrs to stir it. YUMMMMMMMMMM... you will not be disappointed! (P.S. as with any recipe make sure you taste and season accordingly to your family's preferences)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiritedSadge

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Made this for company, added 1/2 cup red wine, fresh oregano, basil, thickened it with tomato paste...awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisville, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
It looks nice but no need of any butter, pancetta, pork, milk or broth and the thing that its missing is tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I did not use butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This was a great start to my own personalized sauce. I did not follow this recipe to the "T". I started with the basics and then went my own way. First, I used a meatloaf mix (pork, veal, beef) 1.4 pounds and then about another pound of beef. Instead of putting the meat in with the veg, I cooked them separately. I cooked off the veg in the stock pot, adding 5 cloves of garlic toward the end (before adding any meat or liquid). I browned the meat, drained, returned to pan and added RED wine, broth and threw in a few tbsp of balsamic. I let this cook for about 10 minutes and then dumped it in the stock pot and added the milk and let simmer uncovered. I then added the pancetta to the pan where I had just cooked off the ground meat. I let the pancetta get brown, dumped that in the stock pot then deglazed with RED wine, broth tomato sauce and about 1 cup of the meat/veg mixture from the stock pot. I let this reduce down until the meat had absorbed all of the liquid and then added this to the stock pot. All the while adding salt, pepper, italian seasonigs and a bit of paprika to both the stock and fry pans. After combined, I added more wine and the rest of the tomato sauce and let simmer covered. Amazing flavor. An didnt measure anything, just eyeballed it. Also used one large can of tomato sauce rather than just the 2 cups that was recommended in the recipe. I did use about a full stick of butter but very little olive oil. You always skim the oil off of the top prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpacek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Spicy Sausage Ragu

Watch how to make a super easy, unbelievably delicious pasta sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States