Ragu Bolognese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This ragu recipe is outstanding. I make it ahead and put in quart size bags in the freezer. When I want a fast, authentic tasting, meaty spaghetti sauce I combine one quart sized frozen package of ragu and mix with my favorite jar sauce and serve over pasta. I follow the recipe to the letter, mmmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This is a great sauce. Doubled the recipe and used it to make lasagna, a little pricey but worth it. I love to cook and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nahant, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Really very, very good. I followed one reviewer and added balsamic vinegar. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This turned out great, it is definitely in my rotation now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I halved the recipe and wish I hadn't so I had more leftovers! Delicious and exactly what I was looking for. I did change a few things per other suggestions. I only used beef (that's all I had) and infused the meat/veggie mix with about a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar, white wine, a little beef broth and the milk. I let that boil down and then added the tomato sauce and the rest of the broth. Definitely let it simmer the amount of time given. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
My omnivore son has never had a taste for spaghetti & meat sauce until he tasted this...FABULOUS ! Not a hint of acidity and so easy. (I did cheat and add a little garlic....I just couldn't help myself)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was very good. Ends up being pretty spendy, but the meat is so tender! I used priscutto instead of pancetta. That was as close as I could find. I wonder how much the taste would have changed if I had used pancetta?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MookiePie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Really wonderful recipe, even when cutting it in half. Try it with al-dente whole wheat pasta. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Outstanding! We all loved this. I did a little balsamic during the reduction stage . . .before the milk . . .and also added about 1/2 cup heavy cream and reduced. I did use some garlic. I divided into thirds, added about 2 c. marinara to 1/3 and had the perfect amound for one box of rigatoni. Everyone loved this! Thx for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Delicious Bolognese recipe. I have tried a dozen different Bolognese recipes over the past year or two and this definitely ranks near the top. I agree with JLDELAP that it makes it even better to add wine and reduce a few times throughout the cooking process. This was the first time I used balsamic in a Bolognese recipe, and I liked what it did to the sauce. Lastly, I also mix in grated nutmeg at the end which also makes the sauce great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Spicy Sausage Ragu

Watch how to make a super easy, unbelievably delicious pasta sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States