Ragu Bolognese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Time consuming and worth every minute of it! The complexity of flavor is exciting in every bite full. Few small changes...De-glazed the pan with 1 cup white wine after the meat had cooked through, used tomato paste instead of sauce, added just a few strokes of fresh grated nutmeg to the finished sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKRATERF

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Delicious Bolognese recipe. I have tried a dozen different Bolognese recipes over the past year or two and this definitely ranks near the top. I agree with JLDELAP that it makes it even better to add wine and reduce a few times throughout the cooking process. This was the first time I used balsamic in a Bolognese recipe, and I liked what it did to the sauce. Lastly, I also mix in grated nutmeg at the end which also makes the sauce great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Outstanding! We all loved this. I did a little balsamic during the reduction stage . . .before the milk . . .and also added about 1/2 cup heavy cream and reduced. I did use some garlic. I divided into thirds, added about 2 c. marinara to 1/3 and had the perfect amound for one box of rigatoni. Everyone loved this! Thx for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Not bad.....needs something, tho'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Really very, very good. I followed one reviewer and added balsamic vinegar. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Really wonderful recipe, even when cutting it in half. Try it with al-dente whole wheat pasta. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was very good. Ends up being pretty spendy, but the meat is so tender! I used priscutto instead of pancetta. That was as close as I could find. I wonder how much the taste would have changed if I had used pancetta?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MookiePie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
My omnivore son has never had a taste for spaghetti & meat sauce until he tasted this...FABULOUS ! Not a hint of acidity and so easy. (I did cheat and add a little garlic....I just couldn't help myself)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Not exactly what I was expecting. But I still gave it 4 stars because the flavor of the meat was great, it just needs something else before you put it over the pasta. For the leftovers I will either add it to can spaghetti sauce like one commentator does, or add some tomato paste and tomato puree to thicken it up and really make it a "sauce" for the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This is a great sauce. Doubled the recipe and used it to make lasagna, a little pricey but worth it. I love to cook and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nahant, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Spicy Sausage Ragu

Watch how to make a super easy, unbelievably delicious pasta sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States