Ragu Bolognese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This was a great start to my own personalized sauce. I did not follow this recipe to the "T". I started with the basics and then went my own way. First, I used a meatloaf mix (pork, veal, beef) 1.4 pounds and then about another pound of beef. Instead of putting the meat in with the veg, I cooked them separately. I cooked off the veg in the stock pot, adding 5 cloves of garlic toward the end (before adding any meat or liquid). I browned the meat, drained, returned to pan and added RED wine, broth and threw in a few tbsp of balsamic. I let this cook for about 10 minutes and then dumped it in the stock pot and added the milk and let simmer uncovered. I then added the pancetta to the pan where I had just cooked off the ground meat. I let the pancetta get brown, dumped that in the stock pot then deglazed with RED wine, broth tomato sauce and about 1 cup of the meat/veg mixture from the stock pot. I let this reduce down until the meat had absorbed all of the liquid and then added this to the stock pot. All the while adding salt, pepper, italian seasonigs and a bit of paprika to both the stock and fry pans. After combined, I added more wine and the rest of the tomato sauce and let simmer covered. Amazing flavor. An didnt measure anything, just eyeballed it. Also used one large can of tomato sauce rather than just the 2 cups that was recommended in the recipe. I did use about a full stick of butter but very little olive oil. You always skim the oil off of the top prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpacek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This is the first time I have ever made Bolognese, I loved it!!! I made some homemade lasagna noodles and layered it with fresh Mozzarella and Ricotta. It was probably the best lasagna I have ever had. I will for sure make this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This turned out better than I could have ever thought! I added some red wine and reduced it as well. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This is a keeper!! I modified it very little to suit our personal flavors but overall I LOVE THIS recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MO2BOYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I would've given it a 5 because it was great. But only after my changes. How can there not be any seasonings added. Is this a given? I'm glad I tasted it before I let it simmer for 2.5 hrs. Taste it before you simmer it. I added 4 cloves of garlic (next time I will add it with the onion). I also added salt and pepper to taste. Each time I stirred it it started tasting a little better, so I kept adding seasonings. I also added 2 bay leaves when I added the milk. I'm not a big pork person, so I bought whole pieces instead of ground. I cut it up into little pieces. (obviously next time I will buy ground!). I also cut the butter and oil in half, as other people suggested. The meat has it's own oil. But it turned out really tasty. Even better after I let it simmer. Take my advice and taste it, that way you can add the seasonings before you let it simmer. If you add it after, it won't be as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Bravo! Try this with cinnamon and nutmeg for a delicious twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Excellent sauce, but I definitely omitted the butter and cut the olive oil in half! Otherwise you're looking at one greasy sauce.... I minced the carrot, celery and onion by giving it a whirl in a mini food processor and then sauteeing it all in the olive oil along with some minced garlic. I sauteed the beef, pork, veal (1 lb. each) and pancetta separately draining the grease. I then added that to the veggies. I then added 1 & 1/2 cups of beef broth, 1/2 cup of red wine, and a few splashes of balsamic and let that reduce (it takes a while). Plus, if you want it to look like the picture, I had to add a cup of half and half along with 2 & 1/2 cups of "personally prepared" tomato sauce and 6 oz. of tomato paste. You may also want to add some spices if you're using plain tomato sauce. I was liberal with the garlic and also added some salt and a bit of sugar to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. You really have to play with this a bit to get the desired flavor you want and it definitely needs to simmer for at lest 3 hours. But, when it's done - it's fabulous! We served it over penne pasta with a side of garlic bread and had plenty of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Worked in an Italian restaurant for years and this Bolognese is light years ahead of the one we made. Next time, I will probably saute the pancetta, then the vegetables and finally the meats, draining them off as to get the full effect of the butter and the milk. I also will use vension as it is readily available to me. Mike, thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
The flavor of this ragu was delicious, but I thought it was way too greasy. I didn't drain anything because I followed the recipe, but with a stick of butter, 1/2 c. oil and all of that meat, I should have. Next time I make this, I'll cut the oil/butter by at least half. I also added a small can of tomato paste because it was just too watery without it. Great flavor though, I'll definitely make again, just with some alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Delicious! I took the suggestions of reducing with balsamic vinegar and wine several times and this turned out wonderfully. The whole family (including baby and toddler) loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Spicy Sausage Ragu

Watch how to make a super easy, unbelievably delicious pasta sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States