Ragin' Cajun Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
The flavor on this is wonderful. I used Andouille sausage instead of the smoked sausage so I reduced the Cajun spices by a half teaspoon. All the vegies on this too makes this dish very interesting. My family loved this even the picky ones! The sauce is way too thin however. Next time I will try making a thicker sauce by taking half the butter and garlic, adding a tablespoon of flour and sauteeing for 2 minutes, then adding fat-free half&half instead of milk, stirring constantly until thickened and then adding the parmesan cheese. Then I'll add it all to the vegies/meat. Hope this works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Yum! This was fabulous. Loved all the veggies and it smelled so good while cooking. I did have to change the recipe just a bit. I left out the shrimp due to allergies, I know its a big part of the recipe but I really wanted to try it anyway. So I added a bit more chicken and sausage to make up for the shrimp. I cooked the chicken in a bit of olive oil and seasoned with the Cajun spice. I finished the pasta in the sauce so I had no problem with it being to thin. Great recipe. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Great recipe, except each time I make it, I forget that the sauce ends up too watery and runny for my liking. Typically I end up adding a slight roux to thicken the sauce. Next time I'm going to try either less milk or use yogurt instead. But overall an awesome, delicious meal with perfect spices! Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Really good and flavorful. I added a roux of two tablespoons butter and two tablespoons flour at step 5 and it was still a thin sauce. I think I will use a penne noodle next time. The fettuccine and the thin sauce made it a little too messy to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Wonderful - made changes as to what was on hand and loved it! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Great recipe! Very flavorful. I didn't have a problem with the sauce being too runny. I used canned diced tomatoes instead of fresh as the roma tomatoes aren't very flavorful this time of year. I drained the juice and used about a 1/4 cup of the juice and 1/2 cup of the diced tomatoes adding them with the wine etc. I used cayenne pepper to taste instead of black pepper as we like this dish spicy! Thanks for a wonderful recipe that doesn't take forever to put together :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I'm sure as written this recipe is great, so I gave it five stars even though I had to tweak based on what I had on hand. The version I made came out FANTASTIC! Here are my edits for those who also need to tweak... Substitutions based on what I had: Penne for fettuccine, Polska Kielbasa (entire package) for smoked sausage, omitted shrimp (would have been great addition, but I didn't have any), diced yellow onions for green onions, 4oz can of mushrooms stems & pieces, and used the Cajun Spice Mix recipe on here in place of pre-mixed cajun seasoning. Cooking variations: I was using an entire package of kielbasa, so there was no need to add any butter when cooking the meat/veggies. While the sausage and veggies were cooking I made a roux (per other's suggestions) with 2 tbsp butter and 2 tbsp flour, then added the milk and parm cheese to the roux to make a nice thick sauce. Added wine, spices, chicken, and pasta to veggies. Stirred in cream sauce once chicken was heated and VIOLA! GREAT MEAL!! Definitely going to make this one again! Using a full package of kielbasa brought the number of servings up to about 6-7.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Excellent! I used just smoked sausage for the meat, varied the veggies by what I had in the fridge and used the 'Creole Seasoning Blend by JOSLYN' I found on this site. Even the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by apriltrey
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This dish is a miracle in your mouth the savory flavors evaporate in your mouth and the Pinot Grigio bought an exquisite blast of joy and complete orgasmic touch to your tastes, I used half and half instead of milk and added so many sausages it was thick. I did add two and a half tablespoons of cornstarch to thicken. This recipe is truly beautiful. I also seasoned my chicken breast and cooked in the over prior, mind blowing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Really delicious and so easy to make. I had left over chicken from chicken tacos the night before and it worked perfectly for the "cooked chicken." I didn't have green onions so I used yellow onion instead. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Chicken Pasta

See how to make a creamy chicken sauté served over linguine.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States