Raggedy Ann Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Loved this recipe, just used margarine instead of the shortening, and added a little almond extract as well. Nice texture, great taste, will make again! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This cookie recipe is my favourite one on this website. I have made it for every picnic and party this summer and everyone just raves about them. A number of people have said that they are the best cookies they ever tasted! A word of caution, the orginal recipe makes a lot of cookies, but don't worry, they won't last long! You'll love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This cookie contains everything except the kitchen sink! I re-calculated the serving size to 18 and wish I had made more. They are delicious - the different textures create a pleasant tasting experience - they are chewy, sweet, crunchy, crispy, nutty and bake up to a beautiful golden color. I used a small cookie scoop and scooped the dough onto parchment lined baking pans. I baked for 10 minutes at 350 degrees, allowed them to cool and then lifted them right off the paper. This is a keeper and next time I make them, I may add a few dried cherries or cranberries and chocolate chips. This recipe has unlimited possibilities and I'm glad I found it. Thanks Vonieta Sogner for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I cut this recipe in half, back to 36 servings. No shortening on hand today, I used half butter/half margerine instead. I also ran my oats through the mini food processor for a finer consistancy. Baked at 350*, my cookies were done at just about 9 minutes. I let them cool on the baking sheet for a minute or so to let them firm up before I pulled them off of the baking sheet, just so that they wouldn't break apart. These look wonderful and taste even better. I loved that I didn't have to chill the dough, it was ready to go right out of the mixer. Great little cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
These are yummy cookies! I used margarine instead of shortening, and regular oats instead of quick cooking. Also, I didn't have parchment paper, but I wish I did because they are very hard to remove. I tried grease and aluminum foil, but they both worked only so-so. I also omitted the nuts for my husband's sake, and they were yummy. May try adding raisins next time. Very sweet, flat, chewy cookie. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
These cookies are fantastic! I altered the recipe slightly: I took advice from other reviews and reduced both sugars to 3/4 cup each, I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup butter flavored shortening, I used old fashioned oats instead of quick oats, and I had to add 1 cup of milk chocolate chips to help with my chocolate addiction. They turned out perfectly! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Fabulous cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This is a delicious cookie! I made this cookie last weekend. I enjoy trying a new cookie each time that I bake along with an old stand-by. I wasn't sure how it was going to turn out with the shortening instead of butter, but it works. The shortening and sugar do not really "cream" together. They blend into a grainy mixture. I mixed the rest of the ingredients with ease. These cookies came out of the 350* oven soft as described in the recipe. I left them on the baking sheet for about 10 minutes before moving to a cooling rack. Make sure to let them rest for a little because they will fall apart otherwise. Wow! These cookies are so chewy and have so many textures. A few people thought that they had toffee in them. They loved the name too! My boyfriend is a big Chocolate Chip fan, but found these to be delicious. My co-workers enjoyed these immensely. A few people sought me out for more! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamikka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
My daughter made these for our Christmas Day get together. I thought they tasted familiar (very good) and then compared to the Ranger Cookies that I had in the 50s, same recipe except Rangers have 1 cup more flour, Rangers area also called Cowboy Cookies and go back to the 20s and 30s..no matter their name, they are an excellent cookie. Daughter used butter instead of shortening also, and no pecans (kinda pricey right now).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAUGHN15

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
these were nothing special. they are not very chewy ( i did not over-bake and am storing in airtight container). Also they are way too sweet in my opinion. If you are looking for a coconut cookie then the "chewy coconut cookie" recipe on this site is better and if it's oatmeal cookies you are after there are tonnes of good recipes to use. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States