Rae's Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2003
I really enjoyed this recipe, but I'll admit I did a little tweaking. After I made the recipe as written, the beer flavor was a little strong (especially since I was making it for a bunch of non-beer drinkers) and the tomato flavor a little weak, so I added a second small can of tomato paste to balance things out. I then added some TVP (textured vegetable protien) granules for added texture and energy since we were taking this chili with us on a hiking trip. As the TVP rehydrated, it left the chili a little too thick so I thinned it out with some tomato soup I had in the pantry (which was at this point starting to run out of tomato-flavored canned goods). A little more simmering and a dash of salt and it was really really good. I kept taking one more "taste." :) This is a great basic recipe and you can play with the balance of ingredients to get just the flavor you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Great way to start.. here are some adjustments I made based on my ingredients at home... was amazing as well! 2 cloves garlic, minced 4 tablespoons olive oil 1 tbs celery salt 1/2 diced white onion 1 jalapeno 1 (28 ounce) can diced tomatoes with juice 1 red pepper, diced 1 tablespoons chili powder, or to taste 1 teaspoon dried oregano and basil freshly whole black pepper 1 teaspoon ground cumin 1/8 teaspoon tabasco sauce 1/2 (15 ounce) can garbanzo beans, drained 1 (15 ounce) can kidney beans, drained and rinsed 1 (15 ounce) pint whole kernel corn, drained and rinsed saute onion, garlic and spices, add red pepper, 5 mins, add can of tomatoes, then finally the rest, simmer on med. for 25 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I've been searching high and low for a great veggie chili and THIS is it! Made it for a Sunday get together and had nothing but rave reviews. I did saute a small onion and some green pepper with the garlic (I used 2 TBS). I also used a can of Miller Light since that's what we had. My friends don't like spicy, so I only used 3 TBS of chili powder and no hot sauce. But I'll be sure to spice up the leftovers... it is so delicious mild or hot! Serve it with shredded cheddar and sour cream, just delish! Oh, and I skipped the garbanzos...ick. Instead, I used small white beans and extra kidneys. You can suit it to your taste. Don't skip the beer OR the mustard or cumin...you'll be sorry! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINAPEACOCK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
I was disappointed in this recipe. Maybe my expectations were too high, after all those rave reviews!! :-) If I made it again, I would leave out the cumin, which had a much stronger taste than I expected, and make it more spicy. It was, however, extremely pleasing to the eye, with all those colorful beans. I served it over rice with bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This recipe is fantastic. The first time I made it I couldn't believe how much it made, but it was gone in a blink. The beer is one of the key ingredients here so don't leave it out. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Good recipe base. It is very hearty, quick, and easy to make. I think that it is a bit too dependent on the chili power and lacking a certain something else. I will definitely experiment with this further. I think I will try cutting the chili powder down by a Tbsp and be sure to use a darker beer - a stout or porter - next time. (I just grabbed some Miller High Life this time while at the grocery store.) I think that I'd also like to start off by adding and sauteing a med onion. On the plus side again, it goes a LONG way. A small bowl (or mug) with a touch of cheese, maybe a piece or bread, and a side salad is a great meal. I really had not thought much of veggie chili before. Try it and see what you think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAmEm2010

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
Fantastic chili! I loved it. I recently stopped eating ground beef and was worried I would miss it in this recipe, however it is a very hearty meal and can easily be frozen for later. I will make it again when I have a group of friends over for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
I really enjoyed this chili. I added some textured vegetable protein and made it a little spicier with extra chili powder, cumin and hot sauce. I was amazed that you didn't need salt, but you really don't. This one's going in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
This recipe is excellent! I sauteed half a medium onion with the garlic and omitted the cheese. I also used spicy pinto beans, extra hot sauce, and crushed red pepper flakes. (Some like it hot!) The beer flavor is not overpowering either. What an awesome, healthy recipe. My boyfriend loved it. And it's even better the second day after all the flavors blend. Thanks Rae!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongebob7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2001
Finally! A way to fix beans so that my kids will eat them! The flavor was wonderful. We ate it with tortilla chips; the kids liked eating it like dip. I will definitely fix this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States