Rae's Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This recipe is fantastic. The first time I made it I couldn't believe how much it made, but it was gone in a blink. The beer is one of the key ingredients here so don't leave it out. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
This recipe is excellent! I sauteed half a medium onion with the garlic and omitted the cheese. I also used spicy pinto beans, extra hot sauce, and crushed red pepper flakes. (Some like it hot!) The beer flavor is not overpowering either. What an awesome, healthy recipe. My boyfriend loved it. And it's even better the second day after all the flavors blend. Thanks Rae!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongebob7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
I really enjoyed this chili. I added some textured vegetable protein and made it a little spicier with extra chili powder, cumin and hot sauce. I was amazed that you didn't need salt, but you really don't. This one's going in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
This recipe was colorful and fun, but the beer was a bit much. I scaled back the amount of beer the recipe called for, because it seemed to require a bit too much; the chili still had the overpowering taste of beer. This recipe is now a favorite of my brother's (he's a beer guy), but unless I'm cooking a meal just for him, I'm going to have to pass on this. But if you like beer, you'll love this chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I love this recipe. I make it, and freeze it in jars so I have something nutrious and delicious to eat, and it's always handy. This recipe is so easy because all you have to do is open a bunch of cans, and throw it in a pot. And can we say fast cooking! I have made chili recipes that require 2 hours of cooking time, this one I can finish in less than a 1/2 hour. I love it, and I will forever treasure this recipe. I even had the guy that runs the cafeteria at work try it, and he liked it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
I was disappointed in this recipe. Maybe my expectations were too high, after all those rave reviews!! :-) If I made it again, I would leave out the cumin, which had a much stronger taste than I expected, and make it more spicy. It was, however, extremely pleasing to the eye, with all those colorful beans. I served it over rice with bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
My husband HATES beans but he loves this recipe. I think the beer really adds a great flavor. I think the chili tastes best over rice and topped with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
This is a FANTASTIC recipe! I just had a dinner party and served it over rice with homemade cornbread; the non-vegetarians of the clan were especially surprised: "I didn't think anything could taste so flavorful without meat!" It also tastes great with some added chopped bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2001
Finally! A way to fix beans so that my kids will eat them! The flavor was wonderful. We ate it with tortilla chips; the kids liked eating it like dip. I will definitely fix this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
This is a delicious recipe! Easy to prepare and a favorite for this vegan! Thanks Rae!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States