Rae's Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
This is a great recipe! I added green peppers and onion. turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Never made chili before. This was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILRED7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Taito, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
Fantastic chili! I loved it. I recently stopped eating ground beef and was worried I would miss it in this recipe, however it is a very hearty meal and can easily be frozen for later. I will make it again when I have a group of friends over for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
This is a good recipe, almost as good as my dad' s homemade chili. I changed it a little-- left out the beer, cumin, and mustard, and only used black, garbanzo, and kidney beans. I also was a little more liberal with the herbs and spices. It turned out really well, even though it was the first chili I'd ever made. My roommates loved it too. I think it would appeal to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
HOLY MOLY this was some good chili. I did adjust it somewhat: I used about half the corn and I added a packet of chili seasoning. It didn't really have that "chili" kick until I did so. I also like to add some more red pepper because we like things spicy! Another thing you can do, which I have done with great success, is add a packet or two of boca "hamburger" meat... it gives it more protein and makes it more filling, while still staying vegetarian. I am not a veggie though so I've made it with real meat too. Still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkionwine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2004
This is a really simple, yet delicious chili. I changed it slightly by sauteing 1 lg onion and chopped red and green peppers in oil BEFORE adding the garlic. Very good and really fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
I used one can garbanzos, and the rest pinto beans because it was what I had on hand. I also omitted the hot sauce cause i did not have it. Husband loved it - I got only one bite before he had it all gone. Definitely a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
Definitely only if you like beer. I didn't like the addition of chickpeas or tomatoe sauce either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
I really enjoyed this recipe, but I'll admit I did a little tweaking. After I made the recipe as written, the beer flavor was a little strong (especially since I was making it for a bunch of non-beer drinkers) and the tomato flavor a little weak, so I added a second small can of tomato paste to balance things out. I then added some TVP (textured vegetable protien) granules for added texture and energy since we were taking this chili with us on a hiking trip. As the TVP rehydrated, it left the chili a little too thick so I thinned it out with some tomato soup I had in the pantry (which was at this point starting to run out of tomato-flavored canned goods). A little more simmering and a dash of salt and it was really really good. I kept taking one more "taste." :) This is a great basic recipe and you can play with the balance of ingredients to get just the flavor you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This recipe is fantastic. The first time I made it I couldn't believe how much it made, but it was gone in a blink. The beer is one of the key ingredients here so don't leave it out. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States