Rae's Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Great chili!! I tweaked it a bit, but that's what makes chili great. I used dried beans instead of canned, but for the most part followed it all the way to the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I actually would have given this 0 stars if possible. I usually have a good eye for recipes that will taste good. I tried to save the flavor with a few additions such as onions and peppers(who ever heard of chili without onions and peppers?), but it still wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coopersburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I love this chili!!The only changes I made were replacing corn with celery and a green pepperand omitted the black beans ( forgot to get at store). My hubby, who hates beans, loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by belle
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was very tasty and not very difficult. The beer in the recipe is what makes it different than other veg chili, for me. I thought the beer flavor was pretty strong, but my boyfriend said he couldn't taste it at all. So maybe it was just a mental thing for me. Either way it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This chili is great!! My son-in-law (not a vegetarian and very picky) could not get enough. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProLifeGoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Great recipe for a beginner. Easy to make and tastes great. I ended up tweaking the ingredients a little bit. I couldn't find Garbanzo and Cannellini beans at the local grocery store so I just bought a can of mixed beans and it tasted great. I also added a bit more chili powder. Great chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This is a good base recipe, but I did change quite a bit. I never have beer in the fridge so used white wine instead which added a nice flavour. I didn't use tomato sauce - just one can of tomatoes and one mini can of tomato juice because it was a bit too thick at the end. I only used three cans of beans as that's all I had and used frozen corn. There was a bit of tofu left in the fridge so I chopped that up and threw it in too! The spices listed make it quite spicy, but very flavourful. As I'd never made chili before, I wouldn't have known where to start, so this was a great recipe to point me in the right direction. Just know that it is flexible and you can change it to suit what you have on hand. Next time I might use dried beans (rehydrated obviously) and see how that turns out to save some money and cans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Celia
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
quick, easy & delicious!! For my tastes the spice measurements were perfect. I didn't use cannelli beans and used 14 oz more diced tomatos instead of the tomato sauce. I just noticed there are no onions in this recipe, it tastes great, but next time I think I'll add an onion w/ the garlic at the beginning. This chili is hearty and I definitely don't even miss the meat (or cheese)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Easy to make, healthy, and yummy. Great to freeze, and use for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This chili is amazing - tastes exactly like my mom's, even though she made hers with meat. I don't like things spicy, so I left out the hot sauce and it still had a mild kick. Definitely had to use two pots to fit everything! A great winter dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States