Rae's Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I love this chili!!The only changes I made were replacing corn with celery and a green pepperand omitted the black beans ( forgot to get at store). My hubby, who hates beans, loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by belle
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was very tasty and not very difficult. The beer in the recipe is what makes it different than other veg chili, for me. I thought the beer flavor was pretty strong, but my boyfriend said he couldn't taste it at all. So maybe it was just a mental thing for me. Either way it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This chili is great!! My son-in-law (not a vegetarian and very picky) could not get enough. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProLifeGoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Great recipe for a beginner. Easy to make and tastes great. I ended up tweaking the ingredients a little bit. I couldn't find Garbanzo and Cannellini beans at the local grocery store so I just bought a can of mixed beans and it tasted great. I also added a bit more chili powder. Great chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This is a good base recipe, but I did change quite a bit. I never have beer in the fridge so used white wine instead which added a nice flavour. I didn't use tomato sauce - just one can of tomatoes and one mini can of tomato juice because it was a bit too thick at the end. I only used three cans of beans as that's all I had and used frozen corn. There was a bit of tofu left in the fridge so I chopped that up and threw it in too! The spices listed make it quite spicy, but very flavourful. As I'd never made chili before, I wouldn't have known where to start, so this was a great recipe to point me in the right direction. Just know that it is flexible and you can change it to suit what you have on hand. Next time I might use dried beans (rehydrated obviously) and see how that turns out to save some money and cans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Celia
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
quick, easy & delicious!! For my tastes the spice measurements were perfect. I didn't use cannelli beans and used 14 oz more diced tomatos instead of the tomato sauce. I just noticed there are no onions in this recipe, it tastes great, but next time I think I'll add an onion w/ the garlic at the beginning. This chili is hearty and I definitely don't even miss the meat (or cheese)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Easy to make, healthy, and yummy. Great to freeze, and use for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This chili is amazing - tastes exactly like my mom's, even though she made hers with meat. I don't like things spicy, so I left out the hot sauce and it still had a mild kick. Definitely had to use two pots to fit everything! A great winter dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Yummy! Even the meat-obsessed males in my household gave this a two-thumbs-up. The only variations I made were as follows: Added 1/2 onion to saute mix, omitted garbanzo beans, used frozen instead of canned corn, omitted cheese, and used Boca Burger pieces as suggested. The only gripe I have is that it isn't as spicy as I like - I'll have to play around with it next time to amp up the fire! This recipe made plenty... I'll be freezing some for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
This chili was much better than the previous recipe I tried. The only thing I did differently was cooking it in a slow cooker. Delicious, and full of protein and fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States