Rae's Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This recipe was greatly improved by some simple toppings. Avocado, cilantro and lime mixed along side some sour cream and some fresh garden tomatoes. This makes it a four star dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was a good chili and I liked that it was thick, but there was nothing special about it though. Just average chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Great recipe! Really does make a lot, but great flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chocoluvs
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was good, I didnt have hot sauce, ran out...so it wasnt that spicy for me, I am going to make again with the hot sauce...its defenitely a good chili!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This is the best tasting vegetarian chili I've ever had. It is full of flavor and I really enjoyed how the flavors meshed together. The only tweeking I did was to omit the pinto beans and that was only because I forgot to buy them. Next time, I may half the olive oil as I think I can get away with just 1 Tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JPMJ
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I didn't have pinto or cannellini beans, but my cans were 19 oz. I added carrot, celery, and onion, and halved the spices (leaving out the hot sauce.) I just used water instead of beer. This is a very tasty, delicious chili. I didn't miss meat (or meat substitutes like t.v.p) at all. Next time I might use 3/4 of the called-for spices (there will be a next time!) It makes a lot but it freezes well. It is very good served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
LOVED it!! I ended up just using the beans that I had on hand (2 cans black beans, 2 cans red beans and 1 can pinto beans). I also used 1 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes and a can of rotel tomatoes. Gave it a nice flavor and a little bit of a kick. Instead of the beer I used beef broth. I also sauted an onion with the garlic. Came out fantastic!!! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Good recipe base. It is very hearty, quick, and easy to make. I think that it is a bit too dependent on the chili power and lacking a certain something else. I will definitely experiment with this further. I think I will try cutting the chili powder down by a Tbsp and be sure to use a darker beer - a stout or porter - next time. (I just grabbed some Miller High Life this time while at the grocery store.) I think that I'd also like to start off by adding and sauteing a med onion. On the plus side again, it goes a LONG way. A small bowl (or mug) with a touch of cheese, maybe a piece or bread, and a side salad is a great meal. I really had not thought much of veggie chili before. Try it and see what you think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAmEm2010

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Loved it. I added almost double the beer and some hot sauce and it tasted like perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
My family and I were temporarily on a strict vegan-type diet, and I was desperate to find some hearty dishes to add interest. This recipe saved us from boredom and was so good, that I make it regularly now, even after the diet is over. If you can use home-canned tomatoes, it's even better. Thanks for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States