Radishes Simmered with Thyme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
We thought this was fairly bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smoochesmingue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I was a little scared of this recipe - but really curious about what radishes would be like cooked (plus I'm always looking for a little 'strange'). Great! The cooking time in this recipe is perfect, the radishes get softened - but still have a crispness to them. Cooking also brings out the 'rootiness' of the radish, but they are still peppery. I did end up adding more wine near the end for flavor, but really, if you 'salt & pepper to taste as the recipe suggests, you should have no problem with blandness. Thanks for the recipe - we'll do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. I went a little heavier with the wine. Used different radishes and thyme out of the garden and will make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by socalhabaneros

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
My radishes took a few minutes longer to cook, so the color was almost entirely bleached out of them (although the sauce was very pretty) - I think next time maybe I'll try halving the radishes, especially if they're on the large size. My only change was to use sherry instead of wine (realized I only had red wine on hand...) and the sherry added a nice flavor to this dish. Pretty good, and I'll most likely make again when I'm looking for something "different". Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
In my quest to shake up the veggies in my life, I stumbled across this recipe. It's very delicious and makes a colorful plate. My radishes did take much longer to cook than the recipe said. I think next time I will slice them in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I had a nearly full pound of radishes that needed to be used. Salad making wasn't using them fast enough and the kids wouldn't eat them anyways. Stumbled on this recipe because a photo on the home page photo contest. They turned out pretty good. Reminded me of turnips. The kids still wouldn't eat them, not even a taste, but I will still make them again when I've got a surplus of radishes. I baked them covered in the oven at 350 for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I made this recipe recently when my aunt gave me a lot of extra multi-colored radishes. I made this exactly as written, and found the radishes pretty bland, with a very strange, but not entirely unpleasant flavor. I don't think I will make these again, but this was a pretty and interesting way to use up surplus radishes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Really great way to use radishes, which I normally don't eat. Pleasant, slightly sweet taste which everyone likes. Have made this several times and think it stands well without the thyme if you are out. Either way, it's a unique use for radishes and will become a summer table staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This is only my second time giving a rating of only one star. Sorry, but this was simply a waste of time and ingredients. The only thing that happened was that the flavor of the radishes was completely removed and replaced with nothingness. I followed the recipe, salted and peppered, etc. but this was just not very good at all. My dad loves radishes so much and was looking forward to this, but even he didn't want to eat them. We will be eating them raw again from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
A bit bland. Possibly because I kept sauce on stove too long - really nothing to pour over radishes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Celery Root Mash

See how to make a quick, creamy vegetable side dish.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States