Radish Top Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
This is a great soup. I added a touch of Green Tabasco and just a little cellery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oak Ridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
OH MY!! Fixing this I thought "UG! It's green" but it has to be the best soup I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph Seibert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harriman, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except for two things: I only let it simmer for 20 minutes, instead of 30 (I was short on time) and I didn't have any heavy cream on hand so I used 1/2 cup of raw whole milk, which has high cream content, so it worked well. You could probably cut the cream out if you wanted to cut some calories, but the milk did make it a bit creamier. I'll never throw my radish tops out again! This is now one of my husband's favorite soups - mine, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Great use for the tops of all our wonderful radishes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
NOTE: Make sure you know how to use your blender before using it for this recipe! Aside from losing half the soup out the bottom of my blender, this soup was excellent and easy to make!! I added a clove of garlic, some thyme and rosemary, salt and pepper, doubled the potatoes, and used about one cup 2% milk instead of cream since the extra potatoes made it fairly thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I made this with vegetarian vegetable broth, added some carrots,and threw some radish roots in as well (I had so much I didn't know what to do with them) turned out real good. everyone loved it. its just like a spinach soup. warm and creamy. delicious with crackers. I've made twice. can't wait to make it a third time. I don't think it is entirely necessary to boil for 30 minutes. I cut it down to 20. and I imediately poured into the blender without giving it a chance to cool. I don't recommend doing that unless you are very careful about not splashing the boiling soup around, could burn you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I've been growing radishes and thought it rather sad that I couldn't use the tops(well, there's always compost) in dishes. Decided to see if I could find something here and boy am I glad I did! If you don't have heavy cream on hand, you can always used sour cream. I can't wait to try this during winter, so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Another "wanted to use my radish greens instead of just throwing them out." I substituted milk for the heavy cream, which is a bit of a stretch but my goal was to combine ingredients on hand with radish greens into something edible, and this recipe met that goal admirably. Also, since potatoes, onions, and milk are all cheap, and the radish greens were "free", this made for an inexpensive side dish. And tasty as well. I will definitely be making this with our radish tops from now on! UPDATE: I have to change this to five stars because my wife has started buying radishes just so we can make this soup. She doesn't like radishes though, so now we're eating the tops and throwing away the radishes. Not what I had in mind when I searched for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stannius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Yum! I'm a little hesitant about the 5-star just because I used sour cream instead of whipping cream (that's what I had on hand), and I think that made a difference. But it had a great flavor and a pretty green color, and I loved it. I will definitely make it again the next time I have radish greens to use up, and I think it would still be good using whipping cream, or even substituting milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I have been a member of allrecipes for a while and I've never rated a recipe before but this soup was SO good I felt I needed to say so. I skipped the heavy cream and also garnished with radishes and sour cream and it was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States