Radish Top Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I have been a member of allrecipes for a while and I've never rated a recipe before but this soup was SO good I felt I needed to say so. I skipped the heavy cream and also garnished with radishes and sour cream and it was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Yum! I'm a little hesitant about the 5-star just because I used sour cream instead of whipping cream (that's what I had on hand), and I think that made a difference. But it had a great flavor and a pretty green color, and I loved it. I will definitely make it again the next time I have radish greens to use up, and I think it would still be good using whipping cream, or even substituting milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Another "wanted to use my radish greens instead of just throwing them out." I substituted milk for the heavy cream, which is a bit of a stretch but my goal was to combine ingredients on hand with radish greens into something edible, and this recipe met that goal admirably. Also, since potatoes, onions, and milk are all cheap, and the radish greens were "free", this made for an inexpensive side dish. And tasty as well. I will definitely be making this with our radish tops from now on! UPDATE: I have to change this to five stars because my wife has started buying radishes just so we can make this soup. She doesn't like radishes though, so now we're eating the tops and throwing away the radishes. Not what I had in mind when I searched for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stannius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I've been growing radishes and thought it rather sad that I couldn't use the tops(well, there's always compost) in dishes. Decided to see if I could find something here and boy am I glad I did! If you don't have heavy cream on hand, you can always used sour cream. I can't wait to try this during winter, so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
NOTE: Make sure you know how to use your blender before using it for this recipe! Aside from losing half the soup out the bottom of my blender, this soup was excellent and easy to make!! I added a clove of garlic, some thyme and rosemary, salt and pepper, doubled the potatoes, and used about one cup 2% milk instead of cream since the extra potatoes made it fairly thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Really very good! The potatoes seem to be the prominent flavor here. I didn't have any heavy cream so I used half & half and it was plenty creamy. Also, it needs a little salt. Other than that, it was great! Such a great way to utilize vegetables that would otherwise be thrown away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy
Home Town: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I really enjoyed this unusual soup. I am a Peace Corps volunteer in Guatemala so I have to cook with what is cheap and locally available so radishes fit the bill! What a creative use for radish tops. I added some cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily crawford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This delicious soup was rich and creamy tasting even without the cream. I simply added extra broth after it was blended to adjust the thickness. I also added 3/4 cup of chopped celery and an extra potato to the cooking pot, along with a pinch each of dried parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme. (Sing while you add these!) I was afraid at first to tell my teenaged son what I was making for dinner, but he helped, and the whole family loved the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYCE LITOFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Suprisingly good, again reminded of thick, creamed spinach soup. Even my husband liked it - whose sometimes iffy on new veggie recipes. Doubled the radish greens (2 bunches and 4 potatoes) but kept rest of recipe proportions the same. Used regular full fat yougurt, as didn't have cream on hand. Added a tablespoon of curry and teaspoon of black pepper for an extra bit of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States