Radish Top Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
A very nice, healthy base. I added fresh herbs, spices, turnip greens and sliced radishes to the soup. I'll definitely use this many more times and play around with different combinations. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenw

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I couldn't believe that all the previous reviewers loved this soup. I WANTED to love it (because I have many radishes growing in my garden), but, alas, I did not. My husband and son said they liked it, but didn't want it again after the first day. I noticed that almost everyone else added several items to this recipe, especially seasonings. For good reason -- the recipe called for no seasonings and would be very bland otherwise. I added salt, pepper and sage, but still didn't like it. Sorry, Laura.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I will never throw away radish tops again! And I will be disappointed if my store does not have radishes with the tops that day. Excellent!!!! I am growing radishes right now, and I am thinking about turning this recipe into a "kit" of something I can freeze and have after the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Added extra radish greens, also added the radishes into the soup (wasn't sure what else to do with them, they were teeny). So mine ended up red instead of green. Definitely added the heavy cream. Tasted it before, and I felt it definitely needed the cream. Blended on Liquify to get the right texture. Ate with toasted multi-grain bread--the kind with sunflower seeds in it--to get the best flavor. Really Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Great use for the tops of all our wonderful radishes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I have been a member of allrecipes for a while and I've never rated a recipe before but this soup was SO good I felt I needed to say so. I skipped the heavy cream and also garnished with radishes and sour cream and it was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Yum! I'm a little hesitant about the 5-star just because I used sour cream instead of whipping cream (that's what I had on hand), and I think that made a difference. But it had a great flavor and a pretty green color, and I loved it. I will definitely make it again the next time I have radish greens to use up, and I think it would still be good using whipping cream, or even substituting milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Another "wanted to use my radish greens instead of just throwing them out." I substituted milk for the heavy cream, which is a bit of a stretch but my goal was to combine ingredients on hand with radish greens into something edible, and this recipe met that goal admirably. Also, since potatoes, onions, and milk are all cheap, and the radish greens were "free", this made for an inexpensive side dish. And tasty as well. I will definitely be making this with our radish tops from now on! UPDATE: I have to change this to five stars because my wife has started buying radishes just so we can make this soup. She doesn't like radishes though, so now we're eating the tops and throwing away the radishes. Not what I had in mind when I searched for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stannius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I've been growing radishes and thought it rather sad that I couldn't use the tops(well, there's always compost) in dishes. Decided to see if I could find something here and boy am I glad I did! If you don't have heavy cream on hand, you can always used sour cream. I can't wait to try this during winter, so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
NOTE: Make sure you know how to use your blender before using it for this recipe! Aside from losing half the soup out the bottom of my blender, this soup was excellent and easy to make!! I added a clove of garlic, some thyme and rosemary, salt and pepper, doubled the potatoes, and used about one cup 2% milk instead of cream since the extra potatoes made it fairly thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States