Radish Top Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I have an aversion to leafy greens and I can't believe how delicious this soup turned out! Everyone gave it a thumbs up, even the picky 3-year-old. I added sliced spicy chicken sausage to the grown ups bowls to make it a meal. Also used milk instead of cream because that's what I had on hand, but it was delicious before I added the milk too. I grew more radishes this fall just for this soup. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Really good! My mom went to the farmer's market and came home with greens galore and I had no idea what to do with them. I added 2 bay leaves during the simmering (as I do with everything). When chicken broth is called for, I use the Better Than Bouillon in a jar. I didn't have any cream (though I love it!), so I used the 4 tsp. chicken bouillon but with 3 cups water. When the potatoes were cooked I added a can of evaporated milk and 1/2 envelope of dry milk powder. The milk combination made the soup really creamy and gave it a big protein boost. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I added broccoli and used plenty of salt, pepper, garlic and a bit of red pepper. Garnished with sour cream and sliced radish. If I make it again, I will be sure to use more leaves and fewer stems. The grown-ups loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Stuenzi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
The only thing I am disappointed in was that I didn't find this recipe years ago. I will no longer compost my radish tops. I also didn't add the cream and added a small spoon of sour cream, wish some julienne sliced radishes. I sautéed the veggies in a tuscan infused olive oil instead off butter and also used homemade veggie stock in place of the chicken broth as that is what I had on hand. Yummy ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
We had to fill in a lot of the radish green with spinach, but it tasted great regardless. I expected it to be very bland, and it was instead very savory and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Yummmm! And healthy. I used 1/3 c. 2% milk instead of cream. I sprinkled some grated cheese on top after dishing up, too. I'm keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by salesgirl
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
It has been a while since I felt compelled to write a review here, but I had to leave some stars for this winner. My husband started growing veggies, and when we harvest a large batch of radishes I knew there had to be way to use up the stems (I like collard greens, mustard greens, etc.) and figured I'd find that sort of recipe. I did not find anything like that, but I saw this soup and decided to try it. I didn't have cream and used about 1c of milk instead, and I don't like potatoes in my food so I used a few cauliflower pieces to try to thicken it up (it didn't thicken it up, but it didn't seem to matter). I was curious to see how it turned out without herbs or seasonings, but sure enough the greens + onions was plenty! HUGE hit in our house, even with the 3 & 5 year olds. I am now having a problem someone else has, I want more soup but don't want a ton of radishes! I served it with diced radish as well, much more than suggested (and some whole of the littler ones). I also like to simplify, after I blended it, I slowly added the milk to the blender instead of putting it back on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I made this unusual soup today. ..and were we surprised! It was sooo good. I had no cream so substituted a can of cream of chicken soup. I plan to put some in the freezer for this winter. Thank you so much. This certainly is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This is a simple and excellent recipe! Filling, healthy, wholesome. The only change I would make is to add some garlic to the onion at the beginning and top with a sprinkle of parmesan when enjoying. What a delightful way to use all of the radish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Had a bumper crop of radishes last year. Did a search for recipe ideas, and this recipe popped up. Radish greens? Who knew. I loved it and grew radishes this year, mainly for the greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States