Radio Days Cherry Custard Kuchen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I really liked that this dessert is not overly sweet. The "streusel" layer didn't really work for me as it blended into the custard layer, which is too bad, because this could really use some texture to it. I subbed raspberries and needed to bake for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
not very good. Used tart cherries. If they were sugared and cooked before adding.. might be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Loved this! Absolutely wonderful and not hard to make. I found the recipe a couple weeks ago and have made this twice already. I am planning on making it again in a few days to take to work. I can honestly say it is one of the best cherry desserts ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Very tasty, and easy to make. My only question is I'm not sure if I got the right texture for the custard. According to the recipe, is the custard part suppose to come out more creamy or more cakey? Not sure if I word it right either. I baked it for 30 minutes, and I'm not sure if I over cooked the custard. The Streusel layer also seems to have dissolved into the custard layer as I was sprinkling it on before baking, is that what's suppose to happen?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Our whole family loves this. Inspired by a German bakery by our home, I gave this a try. Perfection. I only use 1 bowl and add a bit of vanilla to the custard. Not too sweet, perfect and easy. Think your biggest challenge is finding the sour cherries. Try this. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This was so much fun to make! I am eating the Cherry Custard Kuchen right now as I review this amazing recipe. Fresh and hot out of the oven and I love it! Things I did different: I used fresh cherries instead of canned. I had a whole bag of cherries that my husband and I didnt touch-and I just couldnt throw them away. So I kept searching and searching until I came across this recipe. And I have to admit, I was a little scared. I kept going back and forth and debating if I was brave enough to make it. And well, I was lol. I really am shocked at how much I love this little dessert. I wasnt sure if my husband will like it, but I'm about to take his dinner to his work (he works late tonight) and we'll see what he has to say. All I have to say is baby and I are really enjoying it! (4 months pregnant) If you are looking at this recipe thinking there is too much work involved, I promise you-there isnt. And try something new, I did and look I love it! Im a fan. xoxo happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Housewife628

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Also works fantastically well in a standard crust. Very delicious and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Errantdreams

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
What a creamy and fruity treat this was. The only substitution I made was I used blueberries instead of cherries as I didn't have cherries. Otherwise wonderful as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This is truely wonderful! It seemed like alot of work reading the recipe, but it took no time at all. My husband loved it, I loved it. I only made one change. Instead of white sugar in the final topping, I used brown, other than that, no changes needed. LOVE...LOVE...LOVE it!!!=D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States