Rachel's Wasabi Cocktail Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Hey, I'm hanging out in China these days, couldn't find horseradish. But no problem finding wasabi paste. I cranked up the wasabi and lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shonwalker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
First of all, this is a great version of 'coctail sauce'! I love the use of wasabi instead of horseradish, I'm a huge wasabi fan anyway. I just happened to find this recipe last week right after buyin a few pounds of fresh Louisiana gulf shrimp that I was planning to boil, this was a very good compliment for it! while others who reviewed it don't like ketchup cuz it's 'cheap', don't review a coctail sauce recipe. If you wanna use mayo, or sour cream, that's more like tartar sauce! Thanks Rachel, I loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Just what I wanted - a cocktail sauce that was easy to prepare and ready to eat right away. I LOVE the wasabi in this. Nice bite that is easy to adjust. I find myself slathering my shrimp with this. Thanks, I would have never thought to use the wasabi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Much better recipe . . .1tsp real wasabi, 1 tsp of grated horseradish 1tsp of deli style mustard with grated horse radish. 3 tablespoons of chili sauce or if you prefer Ketchup. Much better and real Old fashioned cocktail sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IZECREEMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Two much sweet not enough tang
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Not very good. No one liked it. Too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Blossom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Way too sweet, couldn't taste the wasabi at all, nobody liked it. My guests actually told me how much they disliked it! I will not make again. As is, it tastes like extra sweet ketchup. If I were Rachel I'd be a little upset about this recipe being named after me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
My brother and I asked my Mom to find a different recipe than this one. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
With a change in technique, this recipe is actually a pretty good one. Knowing that it would be gritty, I microwaved this mixture for 30 seconds. It smoothed the sauce out entirely. Also, remember that sauces like this are 'to taste' so tweaking the wasabi and lemon juice a bit helps. For my family, I doubled the wasabi and lemon, and decreased the ketchup by half. Perfect in a pinch as I forgot to buy cocktail sauce at the grocery store today! Thanks, Rachel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefroden

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Okay. Am I allowed to say that this was not my favorite cocktail sauce recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States