Rachel's Wasabi Cocktail Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Hey, I'm hanging out in China these days, couldn't find horseradish. But no problem finding wasabi paste. I cranked up the wasabi and lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shonwalker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
First of all, this is a great version of 'coctail sauce'! I love the use of wasabi instead of horseradish, I'm a huge wasabi fan anyway. I just happened to find this recipe last week right after buyin a few pounds of fresh Louisiana gulf shrimp that I was planning to boil, this was a very good compliment for it! while others who reviewed it don't like ketchup cuz it's 'cheap', don't review a coctail sauce recipe. If you wanna use mayo, or sour cream, that's more like tartar sauce! Thanks Rachel, I loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Just what I wanted - a cocktail sauce that was easy to prepare and ready to eat right away. I LOVE the wasabi in this. Nice bite that is easy to adjust. I find myself slathering my shrimp with this. Thanks, I would have never thought to use the wasabi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Much better recipe . . .1tsp real wasabi, 1 tsp of grated horseradish 1tsp of deli style mustard with grated horse radish. 3 tablespoons of chili sauce or if you prefer Ketchup. Much better and real Old fashioned cocktail sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IZECREEMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Two much sweet not enough tang
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Not very good. No one liked it. Too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Blossom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Way too sweet, couldn't taste the wasabi at all, nobody liked it. My guests actually told me how much they disliked it! I will not make again. As is, it tastes like extra sweet ketchup. If I were Rachel I'd be a little upset about this recipe being named after me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
My brother and I asked my Mom to find a different recipe than this one. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
With a change in technique, this recipe is actually a pretty good one. Knowing that it would be gritty, I microwaved this mixture for 30 seconds. It smoothed the sauce out entirely. Also, remember that sauces like this are 'to taste' so tweaking the wasabi and lemon juice a bit helps. For my family, I doubled the wasabi and lemon, and decreased the ketchup by half. Perfect in a pinch as I forgot to buy cocktail sauce at the grocery store today! Thanks, Rachel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefroden

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Okay. Am I allowed to say that this was not my favorite cocktail sauce recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States