Rachel's Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I was skeptical to try this, as my brain told me good, homemade soup takes hours. I made a couple of substitutions to work with what I had on hand--my homemade tomatoes put up from my garden, already seasoned with onion, olive oil and parsley for one. I also used regular tomato juice rather than V-8, and added garlic powder, salt and pepper. I used basil from my garden, so it couldn't have been any fresher. So you throw a few things into a pot, stir, and add a couple of things to finish. How easy is that? Not only that, but this soup, garnished with a sprig of basil, was as pretty and delicious as any we've had in fine restaurants. This is yet another example of how great food doesn't have to be time consuming and complicated--just a few good and simple ingredients can turn out something amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I didn't want a creamy soup - just a tomato basil soup so I started out knowing I wasn't going to be putting the butter or cream in.... I used a 14.5 oz. can of crushed tomatoes and a 14.5 oz. can of petite diced tomatoes. I put this in the food processor with the basil reserving half of the can of diced tomatoes for a chunky soup. I transferred everything to the saucepan along with chicken broth, V8, 1 Tbsp. of minced garlic, 1 tsp. of vinegar, 1/2. tsp. of thyme, 1 Tbsp. of brown sugar, and some salt & pepper. I followed the cooking time and it was delicious. I topped it with some seasoned croutons and served with BLT's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I work at a small cafe and needed a Tomato Basil Soup recipe for a bridal shower for 40. This worked out to be the best since fresh tomatoes were out of the budget. I have recieved SO many compliments and repeat customers for this soup, so much so that it has become a regular menu item!! The only change I made was to add about a table spoon of brown sugar to a recipe for 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This soup was pretty good, but I felt it did need some seasoning. I added about a tsp of sugar, lots of salt and pepper, some garlic powder and a pinch of curry powder. I actually liked the soup better before adding the cream (I used half and half) and butter. I'll definitely make it again, but leave out the cream and butter. Oh, I also added a splash of balsamic vinegar just at the end of cooking. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Wow! This was so delicious! Even my husband, who normally can give or take tomato soup, said this was great and he liked that it was thicker than the average bowl of Campbell's- and much tastier too! I followed the recipe completely until the very end, and instead of an entire cup of cream, I only added half a cup, and I omitted the butter altogether. The creamy consistency was perfect. I also added a little bit of dried dill to add to the herb flavor, a teaspoon of bottled minced garlic, and some salt and pepper. The end result was VERY close to the Tomato-Dill Soup I love at one of our local restaurants. Great recipe Rachel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I just opened a european deli end I was looking for for a tomato basil soup,this was the biggest hit(for soups),I sold it out on my first day.I added also 1 Tbsp of brown sugar.Thank you for this wonderful recepie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Wow...my boyfriend and I are huge fans of tomato soup, and were looking to try our hands at making some of our own instead of relying on Campbell's, so my stepmom recommended this site to me. I stumbled across your recipe, and decided on making it. It turned out wonderfully. I think this is some of the best tomato soup I've ever had...definately better than Campbell's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Very good and so easy. I would recommend thickening a bit but that's only because I like my soups with a bit more structure. I also added two large crushed cloves of garlic and fat-free half and half as well as salt and pepper to taste and it came out quite tasty. With a few tweaks it will be a five-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I would probably go ahead and give this one 5 stars if I'd have followed the directions. So the less than perfect rating is actually my own fault. But don't get me wrong, it was still very good. I used half & half in place of heavy cream and light, whipped butter in place of the real deal. Also, I did not puree in the blender as instructed... (I was in a hurry and skipped it). However, the flavor was truly excellent. I will make this again and do as the recipe states next time; I'll bet it'll be "wonderful" rather than just "good".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I doubled the basil & I used organic crushed tomatoes that were a little bitter so I added a tsp of sugar. I also cut the butter back some & I used half & half for the cream. I think the soup needs the richness the cream adds though so next time I will just decrease the amount some. Not my favorite tomato soup recipe but it was super-easy & almost as good as my favorite. I served it w/ grilled swiss sandwiches on WW. Thanks for the recipe, CaraMommy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States